Do You Hear God?

Let me share 3 verses with you then ask you 3 questions.
Galatians 5:16 – walk in the Spirit you will not fulfill lust of the flesh.
Galatians 5:18 led by the Spirit – not under the law.
Galatians 5:25 – if you live in the Spirit, let us walk in the Spirit.
Notice the (s) on Spirit, in all 3 verses, is a capital (S) meaning a proper name. It is the Holy Spirit.

Question 1: How do you walk in the Spirit? Did you ever think about that?

Remember the saying, “You are who your friends are?”  My mother used to say, tell me who your friends are and I will tell you what kind of a person you are. Why?  Because you will do things your friends do just to fit in. I used to say – if you hang out with drug addicts you will try drugs. And if you hang out with drunks you will eventually become a drunk. If you, your spirit, soul and body hang out with God – you will walk in the Spirit and produce the fruit of the Spirit mentioned in Galatians 5: 22 – 24. You will walk in love, peace, faith, goodness and so forth. Not that you will not get angry or do dumb things but whatever you do you will have love, peace, faith, goodness, etc through your walk.

Question 2: How do you know if you are led by the Spirit? Did you ever ask yourself, God, what should I do?

I know someone who made the decision to go someplace trying to drum up support for a program. The person sounded a little down and discouraged. I tried to cheer them up but I was not being successful. So I asked the person,  “Did God tell you to go to Kentucky, or was that your idea?” The sad thing? They did not know the answer to my question.

God will either lead us and guide us like he promises in (Psalms 32:8; Proverbs 3:5,6 & 16:9; Psalms 37:4; Romans 8:14 and many more) or he is a liar and we know God can not lie. The problem is not God. The problem is we don’t understand God’s ways, thoughts or how good God does things.  It would be like someone standing near a building that was going to be destroyed and they yelled in a foreign language to back up or get away. If you did not understand that guy you wouldn’t move. You would be hit with debris. If you don’t understand God talking and guiding you, you’ll get hit with the debris.

When I tried to explain this to my friend, I was told how much I hurt them. They told me it was not a matter of who is more spiritual and then they proceeded to list a lot of good things they have done for me. God showed me they did not understand. That person has not spoken to me since. I pray for them for God to show them, and sadly I know sometimes it takes time for people to “get it”.  One day my friend will understand it was not a personal attack against them but the best way I know how to help them understand how their spirit walks one path, their soul walks a path and their flesh walks another path contrary to their soul and spirit. That’s why we are told to bring our body (our flesh) into subjection 1 Corinthians 9:27; 2 Corinthians 7:1 and Romans 12:1,2 –

“I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service.
[2] And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.”

How can you walk in the Spirit, live in the Spirit and be led by the Spirit if you do not know who the Holy Spirit is? If you do not know or understand how God the Holy Spirit works, communicates and leads you? I am not talking about some “church” who has hijacked certain gifts and focused and built churches on works or gifts.

God promises us that He will guide us, lead us and direct our steps – and if you do not understand how God does that, it is not God’s fault, it is your fault for not asking God and searching it out in his word. But there is hope. If we ask God for help, he will give us help –   James 1:5 KJV “If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God, that giveth to all men liberally, and upbraideth not; and it shall be given him.”

We will pick this up next time my friend.

image

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

