A Lighter Side – Who’s Steering

The Lord has shown me if people live their life based on what they think or know or understand, people will miss the boat. This series on spirit, soul and body has shown me how I failed. Yes, I love the Lord and am saved but oh how I didn’t “get it”.

When I got saved at 27 my family thought I went off the deep end and my favorite brother, who later I found out had gotten saved about 7 years before me and never said a word, told me I was in a cult. All we did was read & study the bible together. Yeah, it was in the pastor’s house but we had coffee, kuchen and blue jeans. It was fun.

My mother would instill in us, if you want to get anywhere in this world, work hard. You see, my father left my mother for another dolly. My mom would say you have to push and push and push and when you achieve your goals you can enjoy them and no one will be able to take them away because “you earned them”.

The teaching was true to a point but it left God out. But I didn’t come from a Christian family. Oh yeah, it instilled a sense of pride and excellence in me but later when I got saved and learned it wasn’t me – but God giving me the ability, the knowledge, the ideas, the successes, it was a let down.

It wasn’t about me or my efforts but God had given me certain attributes, gifts, talents, loves and desires and yes, I would need to work at cultivating these, learn, get educated – but because God had given me gifts and talents in these areas the learning was easier, “natural”.

When I learned to play the keyboard, the organ, I can’t tell you how many times people told me – you make it look so easy – I would smile and say, because it is. Then I would show them, teach them. It’s like reading.

I look at all the words to be sure I understand what is written and if I don’t understand a word, I look it up. I can’t help it, that’s just the way God made me. And all my testing growing up in school, the military, exams – I scored the highest in reading comprehension. When I took a type of SAT exam, my highest score, in the 90s, was reading comprehension. If a book doesn’t have a purpose, something to achieve, I don’t read it. So no, I don’t like novels unless the novel has a message to convey like Larry Burkett’s book The Illuminati and the sequel The The Thor Conspiracy   excellent. Two of the best novels I’ve ever read.

Needless to say, when I got saved and decided to “read” the scriptures I wanted to understand what God was saying. I would study things out, compare verses. What I didn’t understand at that time was the Scriptures are alive – they have several layers and that’s why you can read a verse and get one thing out of it and read the same verse three months later and get something else out of it. Why share all of this? Because I heard a preacher say – say what God says – we try to understand things before we venture out to do them. We try to reason out the decisions we make. We reason by the way we were raised, or what we think, or what we were taught. But when we do this, we block God from working in and through us.
Proverbs 3:5,6 KJV

“Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.
[6] In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.”

Just because we don’t understand what’s happening or why it’s happening we are to trust in the Lord with all of our heart. Remember the heart is the gateway to your soul your mind. If trust is in your heart you’re going to believe it in your mind that God loves you has a purpose for you is working through you and in you for His purposes. That’s what Romans 8:28 is all about, you settle it in your heart and mind that I am a child of God, God loves me, God provides for me, God leads me and directs me. We are not told we need to understand, not to understand what God is doing but in all our ways acknowledge Him – another words, say what God says – I’m trusting you Lord I believe your word Lord your words says and quote the word that’s acknowledging God in that area affecting you,  in all your ways and he promises He shall direct your path even though you don’t understand it, trust. Now look at  Proverbs 16:9 KJV
“A man’s heart deviseth his way: but the Lord directeth his steps.”

If you have to understand everything or you think everything you have is all because of your efforts, your hard work and things that you have done – you are shutting God down in your life. It is a leap of faith, surrender of your will, and complete trust and confidence in God’s love for you and his plans for you. Saying what God says will change your life.  Have you surrendered steering your life and turned the wheel over the God?

image

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

