Led By Spirit Or Denomination

Galatians 5:18 commands Christians to be led by the Spirit of God. And not only led, but live in the Spirit 5:25 and walk in the Spirit 5:16.

If you are in a church that rarely¬† mentions or teaches anything on the Holy Spirit – how do you learn to be led by the Spirit? Then again, if you are in a church that focuses on tongues and healing, how do you learn to be led by the Holy Spirit? You don’t. This is not a knock against either of these churches or denominations, it is an observation and a quest for truth. I praise God that Christ is being preached in both.

Baptists don’t talk or teach much about the Holy Spirit because they do not agree with the Pentacostals. And the Pentacostals don’t talk or teach much on foundational doctrines because they focus on the gifts of the Holy Spirit. Yes, there are some exceptions for both.

So if you are a “Baptist” and you want to learn about the Holy Spirit, you research everything you can from scripture on the Holy Spirit. You find from God’s Word, that after Jesus Christ rose from the dead and went back to heaven he sent the Holy Spirit to work in and with all believers. That messes with the Baptists head. Why? Because the Baptist focus on doctrine not the power of God working today.

If you are a Pentecostal you focus on the power of God the Holy Spirit working today. Your focuses are how God uses the gifts of the Spirit. But foundational doctrines are not taught and a way to ground the saints (believers).

The main teachings on the “gifts of the Spirit” are taught in the books of Corinthians. Isn’t it interesting that is also in the book of Corinthians where Paul’s tells the ones who are focusing on spiritual gifts, they cannot handle the meat of the Word of God – they still need to be fed with the milk of the word?

1 Corinthians 3:1,2 – KJV
[1] And I, brethren, could not speak unto you as unto spiritual, but as unto carnal, even as unto babes in Christ.
[2] I have fed you with milk, and not with meat: for hitherto ye were not able to bear it, neither yet now are ye able.

Another words, Paul is saying – you’re not even grounded in the basic fundamental doctrines of the faith.

Then you have the Catholics, the Protestants, the Methodist and each have their own issues. And any religion or denomination that changes, rewrites or adds their book or adds to God’s Word – steer clear because they are putting their spin on God’s Word and teachings. And if it’s any religion but Christian – they do not even believe God’s Word is truth. All I have to say is, go to Muhammad’s tomb, Buddhist tomb, Confucius tomb and you find their bones. But go to Jesus Christ’s tomb and you will find he is not there he rose  from the dead just like he said he would and he appeared to hundreds so the proof was there and it was written about and recorded.

Why mention all this now? Because God wanted me to. I pray every day the Lord guide me on what to write to help the readers God sends to this blog. Friend – if you stick with the Word of God and maybe a dictionary to help you understand some words that you don’t know and a good concordance may be a Strongs, then get the book The Treasury of Scripture Knowledge it’s a book that cross-references all Scripture and pray before each study that God the Holy Spirit teach you truth,  you will do just fine.

As my regular readers no, I was not raised in a Christian family. No one was saved in my family to my knowledge. When I got saved I didn’t know how to find answers from God. What I did was try to come up with keywords for my issue, then look them up in my Strong’s Concordance and I would write down every verse I could find on that topic. then I would pray and ask God to help me understand the right thing to do. If I still struggle with one of the verses I was studying I would find the verse and the book Treasury of Scripture Knowledge. The reason I would do that is, I knew that little book would reference that scripture verse and I could then compare line upon line precept upon precept. Today I still think this is a good way to go and I still use that sometimes. But now I do hear from God. Not only through his word, but I hear him talk to me.

I am so thankful that God grounded me on doctrine first. But I didn’t understand the power of God working in and through me and it wasn’t until 30 years later that I asked God is that all there is to the Christian life – soul winning and doing our best to live for the Lord? He showed me no – there is a lot more. We will pick this up next time.

image

Have a blessed day.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

