Guardian Angel ?

Question: When did the apostles receive the Holy Spirit?

If you say in Acts, you would be wrong.

Before I was saved one of the hardest things for me to grasp was how could God be 3 in 1. I did belive the Bible was the Word of God and when a friend showed me 1 John 5:7 where God says there are three and these three are one, I said okay, I don’t understand it but I believe it because God says it. It was 32 years later when I finally fully understood it.

Stick with me I am going somewhere with this.

About 3 years ago I started talking to God about why I didn’t seem to be going any where, spiritually. I was still reading and studying the scriptures daily but I didn’t seem to have any victory over “things”. Yes, God answered my prayers but I wanted more. I wanted to see God’s mighty hand work uniquely in my life. Sure God kept the gas in the tank so the stove worked and he did provide me a free Yamaha HS – 8 ( see Process Decisions ) I had always wanted, but I was still fighting my personal battles without victory. Why don’t I get ahead in life? Just seem to have things caught up and something would break or quit. I asked God if that’s all there is to a Christian life, reading and studying scripture, soul winning and living the best we can for Jesus Christ. I heard God speak to my heart and mind, “There’s a lot more”. This happened about about 14 years after an incident I had where God helped me.

I didn’t know we could “hear” God. Only one other time, I could think of, did I “hear” God speak to me. We were coming home from church one night and stopped at the local supermarket to pick up a couple things on our way home. I was driving. As we got in the car, I started the car and we always lock the doors when in the car. But I had the window open about an inch. It’s about 9:00pm. As I buckle up and turn my head I see this big black guy standing at my driver’s door and he looks at me and says, “What’s happening?” Then he looks around. All of a sudden I hear this loud yell in my ear and heart, “GO!!!” so I drove off.

After I started talking to God about it and thinking about it I realized there had been some car-jackings. So why would a big back guy walk up to me with a 9 year old little boy, at 9:00 – 9:30 pm and ask a complete stranger what’s happening unless he had bad intentions?  So who said to me, GO!!!  My “guardian angel”?? God? The Holy Spirit? That set me on a quest to find out.

You have to understand, I am a researcher. I’ll dig for truth if it takes me years to find it. One thing that was drilled into my mind was sound doctrine. I was taught if you are rooted and grounded in truth, in sound doctrine, you will not fall for the lies of Satan through false religions. I have studied many religious doctrines just to know what they believe so I could present scripture in a way that would help deceived people to see the truth.

I was taught that God does not do miracles any more. I was taught the gifts of the Holy Spirit ceased when the scriptures were completed. The verses used for this is 1 Corinthians 13. Now keep in mind the gifts of the Spirit are taught in 1 Corinthians chapters 12, 13 and 14. And in 1 Corinthians 13:8-10 say,

[8] Charity never faileth: but whether there be prophecies, they shall fail; whether there be tongues, they shall cease; whether there be knowledge, it shall vanish away.
[9] For we know in part, and we prophesy in part.
[10] But when that which is perfect is come, then that which is in part shall be done away.

So the question is what is that which is perfect?

In the context, Paul said prophecies shall fail, tongues would cease, knowledge shall vanish away. Paul also says we prophesy in part but when that which is perfect is come, then that which is in part (prophecy) shall be done away. So the question is, if prophecies are going to fail, tongues are going to cease, knowledge will vanish away, when is that time?

Is there prophecy today?
Is knowledge increasing?
Tongues are languages of other nations according to Acts chapter 2 so have people speaking other languages easily,  ceased?

But prophecy, tongues and knowledge are not the only gifts of the Spirit. They are gifts some focus on all the time. There is also the word of wisdom, faith, gifts of healing, working of miracles and interpreters of languages (aka tongues) as Paul says in 1 Corinthians 12:7-10.

Paul says regarding the spiritual gifts, Gentiles were carried away with them making them “dumb idols”. 1 Corinthians 1:1,2 – “Now concerning spiritual gifts, brethren, I would not have you ignorant.
[2] Ye know that ye were Gentiles, carried away unto these dumb idols, even as ye were led.”

So what about these spiritual gifts, are they for us or not? I think you have to look at Paul, his teachings and his life to know what Paul was talking about. We will pick it up from here next time. In the meantime, I pray these posts are helping you, my readers and I encourage comments or thoughts.

Friend God loves you.

image

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

