The Questions

When I first got saved I was bombarded with all these different religious teachings. A Jehovah Witness would come knocking on my door so I would read all of the literature I could find about the Jehovah Witnesses to see what they believed. I discovered they didn’t want to see the Bible or what God said but only their literature. Then the Mormons and their book and I studied what they believed and again they believe their book. There were the  Catholics and the Pentecostals and the Church of Christ and I even met an Egyptian who believed Mohammad. The funny thing is the church I was going to ordered some Bibles and some of the packing material was parts of a Koran. God always provided the material for me to study the beliefs of these other religions and I always would compare them to my King James Bible. I think I was hit with just about any religion you could think of, even satanists.  I learned most other religions have their own book, their teachings. I didn’t want their teachings, I wanted to know what God says. So I committed to read, study and learn the scriptures.

I learned if someone wants to convince you of something, they will always try to discredit God’s word, slip their book into your hand, try to cause doubt in your mind about God’s word and similar techniques. It wasn’t until later that I understood those are tricks of satan. So I determined to always use God’s word for my answers, even if I did not understand what God was saying.

One of the verses that has helped me in my quest for truth is Proverbs 3:5,6 –
“Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.
[6] In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.”
When I realized I did not need to understand something, just believe and trust the Lord, it set me free.

So when I started really studying God’s word, I had initially, 2 tools with God’s word. An 1828 Webster Dictionary and a Strongs Concordance. I later would get a book that cross references each scripture verse with other scripture verses. The book is The Treasury Of Scripture Knowledge. It is a great book to reference verses with other similar verses.

Why am I telling you this? Because some things in God’s word are hard to get a handle on. Even Peter said something similar regarding what Paul was teaching in –

2 Peter 3:16 KJV
As also in all his epistles, (referring to Paul) speaking in them of these things; in which are some things hard to be understood, which they that are unlearned and unstable wrest, as they do also the other scriptures, unto their own destruction.

Maybe I am naive but I think most all Christians want to please the Lord and live for the Lord and learn about the Lord. I think some are just more committed than others in learning about the Lord. I think some are more committed to live for the Lord and to share the Gospel and to work in the ministry then others.

So when Jesus rose from the dead and went to heaven, he sent the Holy Ghost, the Holy Spirit. Now unless you prayerfully study about the Holy Ghost on your own, you will hear all kinds of teachings for and against the Holy Ghost. As a researcher, I have researched the Holy Ghost/Holy Spirit “doctrine” off and on for 32 years. Typically, I find the Scriptures easy to understand. Maybe 10th or 12th grade English. But certain specifics in the Scriptures are hard to understand.

It took me a long time to understand the basics of the Godhead/Trinity and how we are really spirit beings just living temporarily in a fleshly body made of dirt. So to understand the Holy Ghost/Spirit, what the Holy Spirit does today and what about these “gifts” of the spirit, it would take time and research. My desire was to know truth, not what  denominations promote. Do I still have questions? You bet. But understanding more about how the Holy Spirit works in and through us helps us understand how our spirit, soul and body work.

So I am going to share my research with you over the next post or two, and you will need to decide for yourself. It is not my job to convince you of anything other than please get saved. Like scripture says, let every man be fully persuaded in his own heart. You need to know what you believe and why you believe it because the day may come where that’s all you have.

Until next time my friends.

image

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

