Take Their Hand

When I realized I did not understand how to be led by the Spirit, I set out to learn. But quickly I realized whenever I brought up living or walking or being led by the Spirit certain friends talked about “tongues”. (For those of us who went to independent fundamental Baptist AV1611 churches – tongues was not going to cut it.) I didn’t want to hear about tongues, I wanted to learn how to be led by the Spirit. So I set out on a 3 year quest to learn how to be led by the Holy Spirit.

My son had been staying at the house because my mom was getting ready to shed her earthly body and go home to the Lord.  After my mom went home my son stayed for a while “to help out”. He helped eat a lot, helped ask me to get him things, helped keep the chairs warm as he sat playing with his computer for hours. You parents with grown children know exactly what I mean.

During this time, it was about 6 months after my prayer asking God about being led by the Spirit, my son and I were in the kitchen. He piped off some smart-allack comment that really ticked me off. Then he left the kitchen and walked into another room. The more I thought about what my son said, I started to seethe. I had enough. Then this thought popped into my head and I thought I am not going to let him get away with being rude and disrespectful to me.

So as I turned around and started walking to the room my son was in I heard God say to my heart and mind one word – longsuffering. I stopped right where I was, (about to enter the room my son was in) and said that word to myself – longsuffering? Then I heard it again with a matter of fact voice – LONGSUFFERING. I knew it was God and I knew that is one of the fruits of the Spirit Paul mentions in Galatians 5.

It just so happens to be, Galatians 5,  how we live in the Spirit, walk in the Spirit and how we are led by the Spirit chapter. I knew God was answering my prayer. Maybe not the way I thought he would answer but he did answer me. So I nodded my head to the Lord and turned away from going to my son and went into my study (my bedroom). I thought a lot on what happened.

For many, this event wouldn’t be a big deal. But it was a big deal to me. For my regular readers you know my story. Friends, if you really want God to make himself known to you, he will. But you have to truly want that, in your heart.

As I’ve mentioned before, I grew up in a family that was not Christian.  Oh they thought they were, we went to church on Christmas eve and Easter. We never read the Bible, separately or together, we never prayed, we never went to church but twice a year about every 2 or 3 years until I was about 13 or 14 then we stopped going all together. I didn’t know squat about God or Jesus much less the Holy Spirit.  Actually, looking back, I think we went to church maybe 4 times all together.

But when I was 27, working in the music industry,  this man and his wife came into my music store. They wanted a $200 “church organ” for their church that met in their house, upstairs. Do you have any idea how strange that is to someone who has an image of a “church” in their mind that looks nothing like what I am seeing then?

So they invited me to their church services, in their house, and I went. This should be fun I thought. You know the rest of the story. I got saved and decided I needed to learn about this God who saved me. So now, 33 years later, I still commit an hour or two with God, studying and reading his word, every morning.

I confess, for the first 30 years, I was learning doctrinal issues, stories, Bible characters. I had a lot to catch up on. It would be like taking Paul the apostle and put him into the 21st century. What a shock. That’s what I felt. If God can take someone like me, who knew squat about him, and teach me and show me how I can overcome problems and issues of life with him, he can show you too.

That’s why I knew I had to share what God was showing me so if it could help others, like me or not, that we are spirit beings living in a temporary body. That one day we will leave this body and go into eternity. But before we go, how can we help others? How can we make a change for good? When my son was little, if I told him once I told him a 100 times, don’t go to heaven alone – take someone by the hand and take them with you.

That’s what I want to encourage each of you to do. Invest in someone, pick someone and invest in them your time, talents, treasures and God’s word. Teach them about Jesus Christ and overcoming the devil in their life. Grab them by the hand and show them the way to heaven, then help them get there through prayer and being a great example of Christ. Teach them how to take someone by the hand with them, just like you took them. Then pick someone else to take. We are light in a dark world, let’s shine.

Until next time my friends.

image

Tags: , , , , ,

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Hearing God | heavensrecord (c) - January 21, 2016

Leave a Reply

