Get Experience

You can think, I will use my hand to pick up this cup. You can think that all you want but until you act on moving your hand to the object, grabbing the object and lifting the object, nothing will happen.

When you look at the scripture Proverbs 23:7 KJV “For as a man thinketh in his heart, so is he:” You can think you are saved and going to heaven all you want but until you act on what God says you have to do to go to heaven – you are not going. That’s like thinking all you want,  I am going to pick up that cup. You have to act.

Now ask yourself – what made you think you could pick up that cup? How did you know your fingers would grasp the cup? How did you know you had the ability to lift the cup? Yes, you have experience in this. You have done it before and “it worked”.

It is the same principle as
Hebrews 4:2 KJV “For unto us was the gospel preached, as well as unto them: but the word preached did not profit them, not being mixed with faith in them that heard it .” Faith is experience God is able.

Now, what if the object is not a cup? What if it is a 50 pound bag of feed? Or what if the object is a 200 pound man laying on the floor?

One day I was doing my research at a courthouse and my mother called me. She said her husband fell on the floor and she could not pick him up. My mother was a strong husky woman and her husband weighed about 230 pounds. So I asked her, is he hurt or in pain? She said no, but he could not get up and she could not pick him up. I said, give him an ice tea, turn on the television for him and I will be there in about 15 minutes or so.

When I got there I saw him sitting on the floor between his bed and the wall. I asked him what happened and what that smell was. He told me his foot was smelling and he wrapped it in plastic and fell. There is no way I can pick up a 230 pound man. So I prayed and asked God to help me,  help me get him up onto his bed. I wiggle my way behind him and put my arm around him under his arms. Then I said, okay God please help me lift him. I lifted him up and went to slide him on his bed and we both fell together onto his bed. My mom was standing there in shock.

We both paused to get our breath and then I asked him about his foot. Then I went out into the kitchen to talk to my mom and she explained he was hard headed and did not want to go to the doctor. My mom and I have been praying for his salvation for 22 years. He was not saved. I walked back into his room and said, Ron, you have to go to the doctor, the hospital. He said, I don’t want to go. I said calmly Ron, you have to go. He looked at me and said okay.

I move their van up to the back door and my mom and I help walk Ron to the van and we took him to the hospital. Come to find out he had sugar really bad and gangrene had set in to his foot. While he was in the hospital I asked  the pastor of my church if he would visit him and explained we have been praying for him for 22 years. Pastor Sam and his father went to visit Ron and led Ron to the Lord and Ron got saved. Then Ron came home and about 3 months later he died.

Friends, faith is not faith unless you act on it. If you do not act on faith then it is only a belief. I could have looked at Ron and said yes I believe God can help me lift Ron. But it wasn’t until I went behind Ron and wrapped my arms around him under his arms and asked God to help me lift him. That is when I exercised my faith in God and God’s ability to help me do something I knew I could not do on my own.

It is just like having experience in being able to lift the cup. What happens is when we ask God to help us do things, especially things we know we can not do, and God helps us, we get “experience ” and the more experiences we get the more our faith and trust in the Lord grows. Try it. Ask God to help you do things and get experience. 

image

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

