What Makes A Good Racecar

Many people struggle to find out their purpose.  Did you ever ask yourself,  why did God create me? What’s my purpose? As many of you know, I am a book person. I read directions and investigate things. When I got saved, I wanted to know what my purpose is. So the little detective in me started searching in God’s word. Do you know what I found? There is no chapter and verse telling me what my specific purpose is. Later I realized my musical abilities and my detective instincts were my “gifts” from God. And if I would use those gifts for the Lord’s glory, God would give me more.

God gave all of us unique gifts and talents just for us. Sometimes people get prideful and think they are the one making their world a success. But clearly it is God giving us the ability and then we know we are on the right track when we exercise our gifts with ease.

If we understand it or not, as a Christian,  it is God the Holy Spirit working through us.  So let me ask you a question. What makes a successful race car driver? Is it the motor? The pit crew? Is it the car?

A while back. Quite a while I might say, I liked car racing. I didn’t know much about it and I didn’t like the noise. But I didn’t like any kind of car racing, I liked something called Sprint racing. And I didn’t want to watch a bunch of cars go around in circles on a plain old track, I liked dirt racing. These Sprint cars are small cars with, what I call wings on top. And because it was dirt racing, these little sprint cars would come around turn four, on the dirt track, and you could see them wiggle their wheels to keep control in the dirt. Sometimes they would go up on two wheels.

Who would have thunk it. Someone liking classical music and symphonies likes dirt racing? Here is what a Sprint car looked like back then.

image

My favorite Sprint car driver was a man by the name of Will Cagle. Kind of like today’s Earnhardt, or Lagano.

image

What made a successful race car driver? Not the car, but that’s important. Not the pit crew, although they are crucial. And no, it wasn’t even the motor although we would go no where without one. It is the driver. Sure, there are a lot of drivers just like their are a lot of singers, musicians, teachers and so forth. The driver had a “gift” from God.

Just like Will had a great car, a good motor and a pit crew, we too have those who help us, our pit crew so to say. Those who believe in us, our dreams and abilities. And some even see you are gifted, from God. We all have God given gifts and talents. Things we are passionate about.

Just as Paul said, Ephesians 3:7 KJV
“Whereof I was made a minister, according to the gift of the grace of God given unto me by the effectual working of his power.”  Friends,  let me encourage you to try something new for 2016. What are you really passionate about? You know, that’s the thing you would do if money was not an issue. Let me encourage you to set some time aside either every day or once a week to work your passion with prayer.

Try to think of, and pray for ways to use your gifts, talents or passions to magnify the Lord Jesus Christ. Just as God empowers gifted race car drivers, God empowers you and me through the Holy Spirit.

Ephesians 3:20 KJV “Now unto him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us.

Until next time.

image

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

