Decisions Have Consequences

One of the things that would bother me was what if I make the wrong decision.  Before I was saved if I made the wrong decision I would chalk it up to live and learn. After I was saved, I did not want to disappoint the Lord. How many times I have had to say to God, sorry Lord, I guess I messed that one up. We know God forgives us because he is our Heavenly Father.

Whenever I have to make a decision on something and I don’t know the right answer, I pray about it but I also look up key words in my Strongs Concordance. Then I write the scriptures down on a sheet of paper and look them up in God’s word. The Holy Spirit helps me apply the scriptures to my decision.

An example: If I wanted a different car I would look up verses on buy, buying, borrow, loan, etc. Then I would ask God to provide the right car. I know if I get a loan, the borrower is a servant or slave to the lender so do I want to make myself a slave? I think not. But what if I did?

I would create for myself a responsibility. Did God create that responsibility?  No, I did. I willingly chose to do something God gave me advanced warning about. God says cast your care upon him, not your responsibility.

Philippians 4:6 KJV “Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God.”

I know God cares for me. If I get in over my head, it is my doing, not God’s.  Psalm 37:5 KJV  “Commit thy way unto the Lord ; trust also in him; and he shall bring it to pass.

1 Peter 5:7 KJV “Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.”

We make decisions that get us into situations that are uncomfortable. Instead of compounding the problems by adding on more wrong decisions,  we need to   S – T – O – P.  Be honest with God and tell him we messed up. Ask God to forgive us and show us a way out of the situation. 

We may have to go through the situation like Daniel in the Lions den, or Daniel’s 3 friends in the fiery furnace. But there will come a time the situation will end.

Matthew 6:30 KJV  “Wherefore, if God so clothe the grass of the field, which to day is, and to morrow is cast into the oven, shall he not much more clothe you, O ye of little faith?”

Psalm 37:5 KJV “Commit thy way unto the Lord ; trust also in him; and he shall bring it to pass.”

Decisions have consequences and some decisions bring on more responsibility. If you decide to go to college, how will you pay for college? Payment is your responsibility and you can not ask others to pay your debts for your decisions. God does not do that.

If you decide to get married, you are creating a contract of responsibility with God first and then your betrothed. One thing God has been showing me a lot of lately, pay attention to what seeds I sow and where I sow them. All seeds bring a harvest.

Until next time.

image

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

