Our Flesh Fights Our Spirit

2 Corinthians 5:1 KJV  “For we know that if our earthly house of this tabernacle were dissolved, we have a building of God, an house not made with hands, eternal in the heavens.”

Surely God knew Adam and Eve were going to sin because God knows the end from the beginning. Our earthly house, our flesh, our body is made of dirt. It is from the earth, not heaven. But God gave us a spirit and soul. Our spirit is heavenly and our flesh is earthly. When you think about this, really think about this we get a clear picture.

God gives us life. He gives us a spirit that is heavenly and puts that spirit in a body that is earthly. Then God gives us a soul (mind, will, emotions) that is eternal. Our soul/mind determines what kind of a life we will live in the flesh from earth and how we decide about the heavenly. Our mind is caught in a tuggle war.

The flesh fights against God, see
Romans 7:14-23 KJV. “For we know that the law is spiritual: but I am carnal, sold under sin.
[15] For that which I do I allow not: for what I would, that do I not; but what I hate, that do I.
[16] If then I do that which I would not, I consent unto the law that it is good.
[17] Now then it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me.
[18] For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh,) dwelleth no good thing: for to will is present with me; but how to perform that which is good I find not.
[19] For the good that I would I do not: but the evil which I would not, that I do.
[20] Now if I do that I would not, it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me.
[21] I find then a law, that, when I would do good, evil is present with me.
[22] For I delight in the law of God after the inward man:
[23] But I see another law in my members, warring against the law of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to the law of sin which is in my members.

So our flesh fights against God and our spirit wants everything from God. And who wins? The winner is decided by the soul, your mind. We are to renew our mind and bring our thoughts into subjection to the word of God. Therein lies the battleground.

When you think about how many different thoughts we are bombarded with every day, it is amazing. So we have to sift through the thoughts like wheat and cast out the thoughts that go against God’s word.

The flesh wants whatever it can get. So when you stop living by what your flesh wants and you bring your mind into subjection to God then you are letting the spirit man take over. And when your spirit takes over your mind, you start to speak what God’s word speaks. And when you start speaking what God says, your life will change. Even if you don’t see it right away, you keep speaking God’s word. Why? Because we know God can not lie. Need an example?

Wayward children. God promises us if we train up our children in the way they  should go, when they are old, they will not depart from it. Proverbs 22:6 Even if your child gets off track, don’t confess that with your mouth, confess God’s word. It may take years, but don’t give up. Remember the time frame from the time Joseph had the dream until his brothers bowed to him? What, about 30 years? Or Israel leaving Egypt wandered 40 years in the wilderness because they murmured and complained against God?

Why does God take so much time? The fining pot. That is the testing period to see if we will quit and give up. Or like Abraham,  will we have faith and trust in God?

Until next time.

image

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

