What’s Next

Jesus was teaching the Holy Spirit was going to come in John chapters 14, 15 and 16. In Chapter 14 Jesus explains the Holy Spirit is the Comforter, the Spirit of truth. We know, once we get saved, the Holy Spirit comes and dwells within us. This is why Jesus said twice in John 14, let not your hearts be troubled, verses 1 and 27.  Notice it is the heart that gets troubled, not the mind ( the soul )?

We say, so and so broke my heart or my heart aches for so and so. Events and tragedies tug on our heart. Hunger, famine, sickness all tug at our heart, not our mind. Salespeople plant seeds of want in our heart.  Even Paul the apostle says, for real salvation, you must believe in your heart, not your head, not your mind and thoughts, but in your heart (Romans 10:9,10).

Just saying a prayer does not save you. A prayer is words, a request or petition. Everytime I hear preachers say at the end of their message, say this prayer and they go through a prayer for salvation, many mention nothing about the heart.

When I got saved, I did not love God. I did not know God. I knew nothing about Jesus Christ other than he died on a cross and rose from the dead. But I read the New Testament and believed what I read and the thought of hell scared me. As God was calling me, I was on a quest to know what do I need to do so I will not go to this place called hell?

As you know from my posts, God sent a pastor and his wife to my store. I started going to church for the first time in my life at age 27. I believed the scriptures to be the word of God. After 30 days, I realized what Jesus Christ went through and how he paid for my sin with his own blood. And I set it in my heart, if Jesus can do that for me, then I will love him with all my heart. And I got saved. The pastor led me in a prayer at 10:52 pm at his dining room table. I believed everything I said in that prayer. I repented of my sin, believed with all my heart that Jesus Christ shed his blood to pay for my sin and rose from the dead conquering death, hell and the grave. The Holy Spirit came into me into my heart and I have grown over the years, to love Jesus Christ more and more everyday.

When the Holy Spirit came into me, a peace came in me I could not explain. Not a peace in my mind, but a peace in my heart. Finally, I had peace with God, with life and the world no longer could pressure me.

Later I would come to understand it is our  “spirit man”  who has this peace. So when our soul, our mind, starts to look at what is going on in this world, we still have the peace of God. Our hearts should not be troubled. We believe God. 

So as I was listening to Bill Salus discuss his new book The Now Prophecies,  he gave a list of events he is looking to see start to happen. Prophecy is not one of my strong points but I know the fundamentals. So Bill mentions that we need to watch for something to happen with Iran and Elam (a part of Iran that has a nuclear power plant).

Bill says we will see:
~ Something happen with Elam/Iran [Jeremiah 49:34-39]

~ Damascus is going to be destroyed [Isaiah 17:1-14]

~ Something is going to happen with Jordan and Egypt and then there is going to be a war in the middle east that will be an Israeli and Arab war, Psalm 83.

~ Bill points out that America will decline because she is turning away from God and then he says there will be a vanishing.

I do not know if Bill’s chronology is correct or not but I know Bill has a handle on dispensational truth. Bill understands how God’s timing of events make the overall picture clear.

Friends, no matter what we see or hear from the news, stay anchored in Jesus and stay faithful to God’s word. Settle in your heart if you are really saved and if not, please, get saved now.

Like the song says – The Anchor Holds

image

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

