What Is Trust

Recently, a scripture has been playing over and over in my head. I figured God is trying to teach me something so pay attention.  So I said, Lord you have my attention,  what are you trying to show me?

The Lord wanted me to examine how much do I really trust him. I said, Lord you know I trust you. I reminded the Lord what we have been through. He didn’t need reminding. Maybe I was trying to reassure myself. I don’t know.

The scripture was  Proverbs 3:5-6 KJV
“Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.
[6] In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.”

How many times I have quoted, out loud, those verses, especially in difficult times. I’ve never been a greedy or selfish person. Actually, I would always give things away. Then one day the Lord showed me  Proverbs 10:4 KJV “He becometh poor that dealeth with a slack hand: but the hand of the diligent maketh rich.” So I learned to consider situations and facts before I gave. I’m still a push over sometimes.

God has taught me, the flesh trusts in what it sees, what it thinks, the physical earthly realm. It is quite a different matter to take something to God in prayer and then in complete quiet, listen for that still small voice of the Holy Spirit speak God’s answer. Many times the answer may be just one word. In my case, it was trust.

Trust has been a word I have struggled with all my life. How many times I have trusted people who have used, abused and abandon me. All but Jesus. God has been faithful to me and I have tried to be faithful to him. So when people say trust, my brain says, trust in no man but trust in God. The Lord has helped me soften that position.

Scripture is clear. King David had an unwavering trust in the Lord in everything.  People today don’t really trust in the Lord. They trust their abilities. They trust their money, their investments. Some trust in their job. Some trust in their spouse or their family. And some even trust in themselves. They trust what they think.

I wonder how many “Christians ” would trust the Lord if they had a stroke or were diagnosed with terminal cancer. How many would trust the Lord if they lost their job. How many would trust the Lord if the financial system collapsed and their pension and social security was gone. How many would trust the Lord when all the money they have will just cover their bills but not if they tithe or give to God first as Proverbs 3:9-10 KJV says – “Honour the Lord with thy substance, and with the firstfruits of all thine increase:
[10] So shall thy barns be filled with plenty, and thy presses shall burst out with new wine.”

People work in government for “job security”. Why have company benefits? Security. This security in things is misplaced.

When you take a matter to the Lord, one of the hardest things is waiting. Oh God will give you an answer pretty quick. It is the waiting for it to come to pass that’s difficult. Just ask Abraham and Sarah. God told him he would give him a son of his own flesh. 14 years or so later, Isaac was born and even Abraham had difficulty waiting and that is why Ishmael was born. And look at how the Arabs have been a thorn to Israel.

Why does God make us wait? Scripture tells us, to refine us, to try us, to try our hearts. It is like God wants to see what we are made of. Will we be faithful. Will we not wavier. Will we stick with him and trust him no matter what.  Only we can answer these points. Even Jesus Christ was tried when Satan tempted him in Matthew 4.

Friends, you need to decide how much you are willing to trust the Lord God. Until next time.

image

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

