Your Nephew

God led me to understand families before I get into Christians living according to what they think.

I opened my Concordance to look something up and it opened to the word “riches”. I glanced at how many scriptures  deal with the word riches and I was amazed there are so many. I thought, gee, God has a lot to say about riches. So curious, I looked at the first one which is Genesis 31:16.

When you read verses 1-16 you see this is how God blessed Jacob. Laban, Jacob’s father-in-law did not shoot straight with Jacob. You probably know the account very well. But Laban did recognize God was blessing Jacob and God had transferred wealth “riches” to Jacob. Laban saw his wealth deminish and Jacob’s wealth increase. So naturally I had to ask, was it the blessings promised by God to Abraham and his seed or was it because of – the way Laban cheated Jacob?

As I went back again, to look at the connections between Jacob and Laban, I realized Jacob was Laban ‘ s nephew. I am only going to list the scriptures for you to look them up if you want.
Genesis 11:26
Genesis 12:4-7
Genesis 24:10-15
Genesis 28:1,2

Isaac did exactly what his father Abraham did regarding his marrying from specific people, his family, not heathen. So Isaac tells Jacob to take a wife from his mother’s brother’s children. We would say it like this today. Go to your grandfather on your mother’s side and take a wife from your mother’s brother’s children.

Laban was Jacob’s uncle on his mother’s side. It is like your son marries one of your brother’s children. What kind of uncle was Laban? At the beginning, Laban was nice to Jacob. But as Genesis 31 tells us, God was blessing Jacob and Laban ‘ s wealth was being transferred to Jacob and Laban was not happy.

Jacob tells his wife Rachel what her father has done to him. The actions of an uncle against his nephew.

Genesis 31:6-16 KJV  “And ye know that with all my power I have served your father.
[7] And your father hath deceived me, and changed my wages ten times; but God suffered him not to hurt me.
[8] If he said thus, The speckled shall be thy wages; then all the cattle bare speckled: and if he said thus, The ringstraked shall be thy hire; then bare all the cattle ringstraked.
[9] Thus God hath taken away the cattle of your father, and given them to me.
[10] And it came to pass at the time that the cattle conceived, that I lifted up mine eyes, and saw in a dream, and, behold, the rams which leaped upon the cattle were ringstraked, speckled, and grisled.
[11] And the angel of God spake unto me in a dream, saying , Jacob: And I said, Here am I.
[12] And he said, Lift up now thine eyes, and see, all the rams which leap upon the cattle are ringstraked, speckled, and grisled: for I have seen all that Laban doeth unto thee.
[13] I am the God of Beth-el, where thou anointedst the pillar, and where thou vowedst a vow unto me: now arise, get thee out from this land, and return unto the land of thy kindred.
[14] And Rachel and Leah answered and said unto him, Is there yet any portion or inheritance for us in our father’s house?
[15] Are we not counted of him strangers? for he hath sold us, and hath quite devoured also our money.
[16] For all the riches which God hath taken from our father, that is ours, and our children’s: now then, whatsoever God hath said unto thee, do.”

When God blesses and prospers you don’t be surprised if your own family turns against you.

Until next time.

image

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

