U – Turn

As mentioned last time,  the things in this world are not life. And what is going on around you right now is not your life. Your life is in you. So your house, car, “things” are all things of the world, not your life.

I use to think if I had a descent car, nice home and had the money to buy what I wanted I would be considered successful and be happy. As a competitor, I always pushed myself to get to the top. Do the best I could honestly,  to move up the corporate ladder. Then after I got saved I started asking, then what?  God showed me it wasn’t about “things” or position or striving for masteries of the world.

When your family watches you pushing up the corporate ladder and having some success and then you stop and go in a different direction, they think you are crazy. What’s wrong with you? How can you go from this to that? What, do you want to be poor? And believe me, sometimes I struggled with how do I pay the bills trying to do things God’s way.

Then God showed me, I was not the one paying the bills. He was opening doors and teaching me to depend on him. It is not natural for man to trust someone he can not see, touch or hear in this physical world.  Just like Ephesians 2 says,  Ephesians 2:1-3 KJV  “And you hath he quickened , who were dead in trespasses and sins;
[2] Wherein in time past ye walked according to the course of this world, according to the prince of the power of the air, the spirit that now worketh in the children of disobedience:
[3] Among whom also we all had our conversation in times past in the lusts of our flesh, fulfilling the desires of the flesh and of the mind; and were by nature the children of wrath, even as others.”

This world this earthly realm we physically live in is not life. A good example may be the caterpillar. As a caterpillar he is in a body that walks the earth. He gets food and water, is clothed in a body that is bound to walking the earth. But when the caterpillar spins a cacoon and bursts forth as a butterfly, he is no longer bound to the earth, he can fly.

Although we are bound in a body that is land-locked to this earth, one day we are going to shed our body and fly. So we are not to “mind” earthly things, things bound to the earth. We are to fly and how we do this is not in our flesh, our earthly body, but in the spirit of our mind. Ephesians 4:23 KJV “And be renewed in the spirit of your mind;”

Life is not in our body but in our spirit and our mind. And when you build up your inward man with God and his word your outward man dies to the thoughts, cares and worries of the world, the earthly realm.

One of Satan’s tricks is to play head games with you. Paul addressed this in Colossians when he said, Colossians 1:21 KJV “And you, that were sometime alienated and enemies in your mind by wicked works, yet now hath he reconciled”. When we do something wrong in the flesh, the earthly realm, Satan starts condemning us in our mind. Satan may even use some of our family or friends to help him condemn us, anyone remember Job’s friends?

But Paul said in Colossians God has reconciled us,  made us permanent friends through the cross of Jesus Christ. The cross brought mankind back to God for all those who believe. So in your mind you think God is mad at you and you are an enemy of God because of your wicked works. But God says he reconciled or made us always friends with him by the cross.

So what can shake believers? Their mind. 2 Thessalonians 2:2 KJV “That ye be not soon shaken in mind, or be troubled, neither by spirit, nor by word, nor by letter as from us, as that the day of Christ is at hand.”

I never knew I could control the thoughts that came into my mind until about 5 or 6 years ago. I thought if something popped into my mind it was real, truthful, right. Then I recalled sometimes when I would pray these terrible thoughts would pop into my head. Now I know that was Satan’s workers trying to get me off my prayer.

It saddens me to see so many people, Christians, work so hard to obtain earthly wealth and things. Their conversations are always about earthly things. The next party, new car, remodeling of their home, vacation, cook outs, clothes, school, and on and on. Yes, God gives us things to enjoy but we should be helping others. Showing people Jesus Christ, explaining freedom is in the mind and spirit not the world. People are going to hell and we are discussing the next church program? Take someone to heaven with you. When was the last time you told someone how to get to heaven?

image

Until next time.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

