The Path To Knowledge

If we were to look back and our childhood most of us can see someone in our life that guided us. That person taught us right from wrong. Most of the time it is mothers who teach the children. But some children grow up without a mother so someone else pitches in to help. Regardless of who it was teaching us, they taught us based on what they know. But what about the areas our teachers do not know? Or if our teachers were wrong about some things? Everyone has their own slant in life.

Because I was not raised in a Christian family or with a Christian up bringing ( other than to know God exists ) my siblings and I learned what my mother believed. Our father left before I was 2 years old and if I saw him 4 or 5 times in my lifetime that is a lot. My mom left the learning to read, write and do arithmetic up to public schools. After all, her tax dollars were helping to pay for our education in the basics.

When it came to learning specific ” skills ” , my mom was somewhat at a loss. She could share what limited understanding she had on a topic but that was all. But mom was not afraid to roll up her sleeves and get into a project.

But what about God? She did not have a clue. No one taught her and what limited experience she had with a ” minister ” was his groping her when she was younger. As mom put it, ” he was trying to feel me up “.  So mom didn’t teach us much about God and we did not go to church except for the occasional Christmas eve service and sometimes Easter.

I was in the third grade when church school was made available. One of my brothers was in the second grade. That year we went to church school and seeds were planted. We would walk from our elementary school two blocks to the Baptist church and after church school stop at the local Five & Dime to buy a couple of 1 cent fireballs. Then walk back to our elementary school and catch the late bus home.

Because we were memorizing the books of the Old Testament in church  school, mom would ask me to “say the books of the Bible” when we were at a family gathering. Mom was proud of me but I was embarrassed she would put me on the spot.

As I grew up I quickly learned if I wanted to learn how to do something I needed to read and study a book. Then just follow what the book teaches, exactly as the book says and I can expect the results the book says. Mom use to tell me, you can do anything, just give you a book and you will do it. So it was no surprise to mom when I went into realestate and music, that I would learn and follow the books.

So when God got a hold of me when I was 27, mom was watching. I already had a track record with following what the books taught. Now I was going into an area mom knew little about – God and Jesus Christ. Then I got saved and mom was watching me, saw my life change based on what a book said. Three years later, mom followed me and got saved when she was 56 years old.

Just like books on how to topics, there are good books and there a bad books. It is like cooking using someone’s recipe but they leave out the “secret” ingredient. I feel the same way about the King James Bible. Many of the other versions change or alter or leave out “secret” ingredients. And if you follow the notes and footnotes of others, how can the Holy Spirit teach you?

It is no secret God has all the answers to all our questions and to all our issues in life. The answers are in his book the scriptures.

Mom was not a financial guru but mom knew to budget, plan and save. Even though she had monthly bills and a lot of mouths to feed,  there was never a time we went hungry. And credit cards did not exist back then. So when I wanted to learn about money, mom could only teach what she knew. Like most people my financial condition was up and down. It wasn’t until I said to God one day Lord, I need you to teach me about money. Teach me how to be a good steward of what you give me. Sure there has been tests and trials but isn’t that a part of life?

So if you want to learn about money and how to handle the money God gives you – you must use his word and do things his way. So we start with a promise from God:

Proverbs 2:1-9 KJV “My son, if thou wilt receive my words, and hide my commandments with thee;
[2] So that thou incline thine ear unto wisdom, and apply thine heart to understanding;
[3] Yea, if thou criest after knowledge, and liftest up thy voice for understanding;
[4] If thou seekest her as silver, and searchest for her as for hid treasures;
[5] Then shalt thou understand the fear of the Lord , and find the knowledge of God.
[6] For the Lord giveth wisdom: out of his mouth cometh knowledge and understanding.
[7] He layeth up sound wisdom for the righteous: he is a buckler to them that walk uprightly.
[8] He keepeth the paths of judgment, and preserveth the way of his saints.
[9] Then shalt thou understand righteousness, and judgment, and equity; yea , every good path.”

Once you set it in your heart to search out truth from God’s word and you receive what God says, then verse 9 will happen. And when you search out truth from God’s word remember God’s ways are not man’s ways. Remember,
Proverbs 3:5-6 KJV  “Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.
[6] In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.”

Now for a homework assignment. Take out a piece of paper and draw 4 vertical lines down the paper, spaces between the lines on the paper. Now you have four columns. In the first column to the left write above that column God Provided, the second column write, Giving, the third column write Bills, and the fourth column write Savings.

Then get some post it type notes for writing scripture verses and we will pick it up from here next time.

image

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

