Directions

One day when my son was about 9 he asked me if I loved God more than I loved him. At the time, I tried to explain to my son there are different types of love. We love parents different than we love children. We love our pets and job our family, we love God too. And yes, I do love God the most. He looked at me very sad.

Now, I realize, God does not give us a variety of definitions about love. We either love or we do not love. So my son asked me, what is love? I told him when you are willing to give up everything, your hopes, your dreams and everything you have and want for someone else, that is love.

Then I explained how God loves us so much, he gave. He gave his son to save the world. John 3:16, 17.

I am probably not the best person to explain love. I have very few examples of real genuine love in my life. I could probably count them on one hand. But explaining to him why I loved God more than anyone or anything was not easy for him to understand. It also caused me to wonder why he asked me that question. I did tell my son I love him more than he could know and I would always love him, no matter what.

It wasn’t until my son was about 17 and made a poor decision and asked me for help that I could explain my unconditional love for him in a way he could now understand.

As I have said before, I did not grow up knowing God or Jesus other than God IS God made know to man in the person of Jesus Christ. And as I said before, I did not get saved because I loved God or Jesus. I got saved out of pure selfishness. I did not want to go to hell. And when I got saved I told the Lord, well I guess I better learn about you now. So I bought a 5 subject notebook and a new pen and started in Genesis. I read through the Bible, praying for God to teach me the truth and writing down everything God taught me. It took me a year and a half to finish and when I finished with the entire book, I had fallen in love with God and with Jesus. I didn’t understand the Holy Spirit but I knew I loved God and Jesus and it was unconditional.

After my son asked me about love, I thought of Eli the priest. Eli’s father was in bondage in Egypt when Israel was in bondage. God told Eli how it was God who gave them the best of everything and even wealth. Yes, God says wealth. You can read about it in 1 Samuel 2:27 and beyond. God was very good to Eli. And Eli judged Israel for 40 years after the bondage.

But Eli loved his two sons more than he loved God and Eli, as a judge over Israel, failed to rein in his own two sons. So God calls Samuel. Samuel was living with Eli learning to be a priest. God tells Samuel he is going to kill Eli’s two sons. And God told Samuel why he was going to kill Eli’s two sons. But Eli already knew God was upset with him over the way he was raising his two sons.

In 1 Samuel 2:29 KJV  “Wherefore kick ye at my sacrifice and at mine offering, which I have commanded in my habitation; and honourest thy sons above me, to make yourselves fat with the chiefest of all the offerings of Israel my people?”

And it appears that Eli instead of reigning in his sons, would make a sacrifice to God, for their sins as explained in

1 Samuel 3:11-14 KJV  “And the Lord said to Samuel, Behold, I will do a thing in Israel, at which both the ears of every one that heareth it shall tingle.
[12] In that day I will perform against Eli all things which I have spoken concerning his house: when I begin, I will also make an end.
[13] For I have told him that I will judge his house for ever for the iniquity which he knoweth; because his sons made themselves vile, and he restrained them not.
[14] And therefore I have sworn unto the house of Eli, that the iniquity of Eli’s house shall not be purged with sacrifice nor offering for ever.”

So time goes on and no changes by Eli with his sons and when Eli is 98 years old he sees God drop the hammer so to say. Not only does God kill Eli’s two sons, but Eli who is “heavy” falls over backwards and breaks his neck and dies plus, Eli’s daughter in law who is pregnant dies in child birth. The baby lives and is named Ichabod.

Yes, God is patient and longsuffering but there comes a time when God’s patience runs out. Yes, God loves children but God also expects parents to train up their children in the way they should go. If a child decides to disobey God it is up to parents to correct them in love. If we have taught our children the truth, corrected them and steered them down the right path and a child chooses to veer off the path, we need to instruct them but have unconditional love. To pray the promises of God’s word when we know we have done what God tells us.

Friends, love is deep seated and we can not know what motivates love nor can we determine how much someone else loves. All we can know is how much God loves us and wants the very best for us. And God loves us unconditionally.

Until next time.

image

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

