Authority With Compassion

I always thought I was a compassionate person. If someone had a need and I could help, I would. But the Lord showed me my compassion was tempered. I always thought compassion was a sorrow or pity for someone because of their misfortune. But compassion is defined as a mix of love and sorrow for another’s misfortune.

My compassion was tempered in that I felt sorrow and I would then help. So I thought I was compassionate. But compassion by definition, includes love. And I truly struggle with the word love when it comes to other people. I don’t mean care about I mean genuine love for people, strangers or distant friends.

When you think how God so loved the world that he gave his Son. Then I think about the people I say I love, what have I given to them? I am not a huggy lovey person, I am technically minded. I do not see much value in snuggling, I am sorry.

But when I look at compassion in a business sense or in the work of the ministry, that gets my attention. Every field or area I have been involved in God has always put me in a leadership role. I am not boasting. But now I see what God was trying to teach me. Like Paul said 2 Corinthians 11:1, bear with me in my folly, I ask you.

I don’t like to lose. So I would push and do everything I could to win, except cheat – I hate cheaters (figuratively). So I would push, encourage and even help my team carry the load so we would win. But I didn’t see the people as people, as individuals, I saw us as a team and I was leading our team.

If someone on the team struggled I would give extra help so the team would win but second time around, I did not want that person on my team. So I had compassion on the person to help, but I lacked love to have them again on the team. Now I see the thrill, excitement and motivation that person must have experienced and by my not inviting them on the team again, I blew it.

So many of the blogs I read I am amazed how much people want to talk about themselves. I don’t quite “get it”. I ask myself, is there anyone on this planet that has such an interesting life that I would want to read about them every day? Don’t get me wrong. Some of the people write about their experiences and how they overcame situations and I truly admire them and their accomplishments and enjoy their blogs. They use their blog as a tool or resource to help others. And some struggle with decisions and life in general so they write about their daily issues looking for guidance. I know that feeling.

But the Lord showed me I need to spend time learning about people’s strengths not focus on their weaknesses. Just because a friend, family member or person on your team struggles in one area, find out what they like. What they excel at. Or what they want to learn about. Work with them in those areas and not only will you have sorrow for another’s misfortune, but by helping them find where they excel, you show love.

Which brings me to Mark 9 and our wonderful Lord Jesus Christ. You see, Jesus had a similar situation. His team tried to help someone and they failed. Jesus didn’t kick them off the team he told them why they failed so they would learn what to correct and how to correct it.

Mark 9:17-29 KJV  “And one of the multitude answered and said, Master, I have brought unto thee my son, which hath a dumb spirit;
[18] And wheresoever he taketh him, he teareth him: and he foameth, and gnasheth with his teeth, and pineth away: and I spake to thy disciples that they should cast him out; and they could not.
[19] He answereth him, and saith, O faithless generation, how long shall I be with you? how long shall I suffer you? bring him unto me.
[20] And they brought him unto him: and when he saw him, straightway the spirit tare him; and he fell on the ground, and wallowed foaming.
[21] And he asked his father, How long is it ago since this came unto him? And he said, Of a child.
[22] And ofttimes it hath cast him into the fire, and into the waters, to destroy him: but if thou canst do any thing, have compassion on us, and help us.
[23] Jesus said unto him, If thou canst believe, all things are possible to him that believeth.
[24] And straightway the father of the child cried out, and said with tears, Lord, I believe; help thou mine unbelief.
[25] When Jesus saw that the people came running together, he rebuked the foul spirit, saying unto him, Thou dumb and deaf spirit, I charge thee, come out of him, and enter no more into him.
[26] And the spirit cried, and rent him sore, and came out of him: and he was as one dead; insomuch that many said, He is dead.
[27] But Jesus took him by the hand, and lifted him up; and he arose.
[28] And when he was come into the house, his disciples asked him privately, Why could not we cast him out?
[29] And he said unto them, This kind can come forth by nothing, but by prayer and fasting.”

Until next time.

image

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

