Carrying A Corpse

One of the key or foundational messages Paul was preaching was our spirit man. Key “doctrinal” books of Paul’s teachings to the church include:
Romans ~ the foundation
Ephesians
Thessalonians

Romans God put first. Why? Because it is foundational. It lays the foundation of the church, the bride of Christ. Another words – Romans is where we find the “doctrinal” foundation of the believer. Ephesians is doctrinal too. Ephesians lays out our blessings, promises and spiritual warfare. Thessalonians lays out the will of God and the second coming of Jesus Christ.

Just like building a house – you must lay a foundation to hold up the house – Romans is the foundational book that explains how Jesus Christ is our foundation as believers. Not the law, not good works, not by being good, not by anything you do. Paul goes into great detail about the law, who the law was given to (Jews) not Gentiles. Paul explains how everything is settled on Jesus Christ – the foundation. For Jews and Gentiles. Paul explains how to get saved and Paul goes into great detail about our spirit man.

Although there is plenty of “meat” in the book of Romans, it is still considered the “milk” of the word of God. Another words, Romans has the basics, the fundamentals of our faith, the foundation explained in easy to understand explanations. So if you do not understand the basics of salvation in Jesus Christ as laid out by God, through Paul, in Romans, how will you understand the “meat”?

People get confused when they take verses from the 4 gospels or the Old Testament and put the teaching into what Paul teaches. Principles can be brought in but not the doctrine. Let me explain. You can not take the blessings and curses, given to Moses for the Jews and move them into the church made up of Jews and Gentiles. Why? The church is not under the law. The church is made up of Jew and Gentile. But the principles of right and wrong or learning how God works and learning more about God’s personality and character we can learn.

Even the gospels – Jesus had come to Israel as their long awaited Messiah. Jesus’ primary message was to the Jews presenting himself as the Lord, the Saviour their Messiah. Israel rejected Jesus. But we still learn principles from the gospels. We see Jesus deals with a Samaritan woman, a Gentile. We learn the word of God is seed.

Jesus opens our understanding to heaven and hell when speaking of the rich man and Lazarus in Luke 16. Jesus explains the workings of Satan. Satan was hardly discussed in the 39 Old Testament books except for Job, Isaiah and Ezekiel and some in Daniel. But the gospels go into greater detail about Satan and the spirit realm.

But Jesus did not stop there. He tells us about the Holy Ghost too. And in the gospel of John, Jesus explains the Holy Ghost, the Holy Ghost’s purpose and how the Holy Ghost will be inside all true believers. Again, something completely different than Old Testament teaching.

After the death, burial and resurrection of Jesus, the disciples are together. Jesus appears and gives them the Holy Ghost in John 20. The disciples then go to Jews. But God saves a Jew named Saul, changes his name to Paul and sends him to Gentiles, Jews and kings.

Acts 9:15-16 KJV  “But the Lord said unto him, Go thy way: for he is a chosen vessel unto me, to bear my name before the Gentiles, and kings, and the children of Israel:
[16] For I will shew him how great things he must suffer for my name’s sake.”

Now, something was different. Now, Jews and Gentiles could get saved. Now the Holy Ghost was in all believers. And Paul not only focuses on salvation is in Christ through the blood atonement for all of mankind’s sin – but Paul goes into great detail about our spirit, soul and body. Paul explains how each part, our spirit, soul and body are all different parts with different functions.

So Paul lays the foundation for his explanation in the book of Romans. And Romans is written in an easy to understand flow. Romans 1 & 2 lay the groundwork for God and man. Romans 3 – 7 discuss sin, the law, grace and faith and Romans 8 is the key that unlocks our understanding to our spirit man.

Paul goes into an explanation in Romans 7 laying groundwork for Romans 8. He makes it very, very clear, in the flesh dwells no good thing. The flesh will sin, it likes sin, the flesh is death, a dying corpse. Paul explains a battle between his mind (soul) and his flesh. His mind wants to please God but his flesh wants to sin against God.

Romans 7:14-25 KJV  “For we know that the law is spiritual: but I am carnal, sold under sin.
[15] For that which I do I allow not: for what I would, that do I not; but what I hate, that do I.
[16] If then I do that which I would not, I consent unto the law that it is good.
[17] Now then it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me.
[18] For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh,) dwelleth no good thing: for to will is present with me; but how to perform that which is good I find not.
[19] For the good that I would I do not: but the evil which I would not, that I do.
[20] Now if I do that I would not, it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me.
[21] I find then a law, that, when I would do good, evil is present with me.
[22] For I delight in the law of God after the inward man:
[23] But I see another law in my members, warring against the law of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to the law of sin which is in my members.
[24] O wretched man that I am! who shall deliver me from the body of this death?
[25] I thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord. So then with the mind I myself serve the law of God; but with the flesh the law of sin.”

We have not found such a great explanation of a separation of the body / the flesh from other parts ( soul & spirit ) as Paul explains here. This is key to understanding. If someone does not understand this foundational teaching, their doctrine gets messed up. They get confused. And they start putting verses from the gospels or the Old Testament into these verses and get all messed up.

Then Paul goes into explaining our spirit man in Romans 8. Here is a separation and Paul calls it an operation of God in Colossians 2:12-14 and we will pick it up from here next time.

image

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Dividing The Flesh From The Spirit | heavensrecord (c) - September 6, 2016

Leave a Reply

