Just Because You Do Not See

When my son was very young he asked me, how do you know God is really there? I told him, because I know God is there. Not only does his word tell me he is there but the Holy Spirit is inside me and tells me. So then I tried to give him an example. I told him stay here in this room for a minute. I walked out of the room and stood out of his sight in the hallway. Then I asked him, can you see me? He said no. I asked him, how do you know I am here?  He said because I just know.

I explained to him, just because you do not always see me does not mean I am not here. I may be watching you from a vantage you can not see me. I explained how God is here too. Just because we can not see him does not mean God is not here.

I heard the other day, a great example on this same topic. A man said, if you stand on the beach and look out at the ocean, what do you see? Water. Waves coming onto the shoreline. Can you see what is under the water? No, not from standing on the beach. Is there anything in the water? Yes, fish. How do you know there is fish in the water?

A child who goes to the beach for the first time knows nothing about what is in the water. Someone teaches that child about the water, what is in the water and what it looks like under the water.  It could be a cartoon or television program or a book with pictures but someone teaches that child about things they can not see from standing on the beach.

God also teaches us about things we can not see.  2 Corinthians 4:18 KJV
“While we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen: for the things which are seen are temporal; but the things which are not seen are eternal.”

The difference with what God teaches us is once we go to heaven or hell we see and we can not change things. If you go into the water and explore underwater to see that world, you can come up to the top and get back on to dry land.

Not only does God teach us about heaven and hell but God also tells us about angels and spirit beings. We even have guardian angels. God dispatches angels to protect his children, those of us who are saved, heirs of salvation. Hebrews 1:13-14 KJV  “But to which of the angels said he at any time, Sit on my right hand, until I make thine enemies thy footstool?
[14] Are they not all ministering spirits, sent forth to minister for them who shall be heirs of salvation?”

We know there are critters under the soil, worms, bugs and such and animals in the water with plants and fish. Just because we can not see them does not mean they are not there. Just because we can not see God does not mean he is not there. Speak to him, talk everything over with him, he loves you.

I saw this picture online and thought it was beautiful in colors and a great picture of underwater life. Until next time.

image

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

