What Is Purpose?

Growing up, we most likely had people ask us, what do you want to be when you grow up? One of the most asked questions is, what is my purpose? Why am I here? What is my destiny? And there have been a lot of books sold on finding your purpose. The answer is easy to find. Let me explain.

What is purpose? Is purpose an emotion? Is purpose an action? Is purpose a “spiritual” thing?

By definition, purpose is like a goal as defined in my 1828 Webster Dictionary. It defines purpose as – That which a person sets before himself as an object to be reached or accomplished. But the ambitions of man is generally directed to one or both purposes – wealth or power.

But purpose includes “the end in view”. Another words, when we achieve our purpose, we have a sense of gratification / achievement. So is it, mankind is really looking for gratification and achievement in life?

I like to look at purpose more as goals. People set goals to achieve something that appears to be out of reach at the time. People save money to buy a car so they do not have to walk.

And when we look at or for purpose in life, we acknowledge God created us with a goal in mind. God had a purpose for creating you and me. Some of us go on an adventure with God to discover our purpose. Some just know their purpose.

Ephesians 3:10-11 KJV  “To the intent that now unto the principalities and powers in heavenly places might be known by the church the manifold wisdom of God,
[11] According to the eternal purpose which he purposed in Christ Jesus our Lord:”

When we look up purpose in a concordance trying to find our purpose, we discover not one of those verses has our name and purpose. And no, I am not going to write out all 36 references to purpose mentioned. But we can glean insight in finding our purpose and in our next post, I will explain how this helped me find my purpose

What we glean from the 36 references is:
~ Every purpose is established by counsel, Proverbs 20:18
~  Every purpose, there is time and judgment. Ecclesiastes 8:6 and a time and season 3:1

We know the whole purpose God was manifest in the flesh in Jesus Christ was to destroy the works of the devil.
1 John 3:8 KJV  “He that committeth sin is of the devil; for the devil sinneth from the beginning. For this purpose the Son of God was manifested, that he might destroy the works of the devil.”

Let’s face it. Since the Garden of Eden the devil has had a field day with man. But Jesus came to destroy the works of the devil.

So we learn from these verses, purpose is established by counsel. So to find your purpose, seek counsel. I will show you how in this and the next post. Naturally, you want to always ask God first. But you want to be specific with God. Ask him to manifest his purpose for your life. You do not want to live your life doing your own thing if it is against God because the time will come to an end and then you will be judged by God. Time and judgment, remember?

Time and judgment never really clicked with me until my mom went home to be with the Lord. For about 25 years I was a church musician. I love music and love to play music. Using my gifts and talents I served for 25 years in church. But that was for a time, a season. One day, God will judge my service as a church musician. Yes, I still play and would help out in a pinch. But that season has passed and it is time for another.

When I was trying to figure out my purpose and answer questions as a child, I couldn’t. People would ask me, what do you want to be? I answeted, I don’t know. I didn’t know at 10 or 20 or 30 or 40. I like a bunch of stuff I would say. I tried many things, they were exciting at first and I would loose interest.

Today, I look back at all the tests and testing I went through. The guidance counselors, the aptitude tests, the military’s testing and they all came up with answers. Often I would say, I don’t like that or not really what I want to do. Funny, music never came up.

When I grew up and got saved, again I started searching for my purpose. Now though, I wanted to please God. I started listing things I liked and didn’t like. Things I was trained in or knew something about.  I even asked a pastor one time. He said, bloom where you are planted. I thought, what a dumb answer. How do you bloom where you are planted when you don’t know where your buds are?

Finding my purpose use to really stress me out. I wanted to be doing what God created me for. And if I start explaining now, this post will be way too long. So I will explain fully next time. I will not post tomorrow, but on Sunday with the answer. Again, Happy Feast of Tabernacles and see you on Sunday, the Lord’s day. Until next time.

image

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

