Thanksgiving # 3

As I was considering the things I was thankful for this Thanksgiving I wanted to look at the bigger picture. Most people tell God they are thankful for family, for food, clothing and shelter, for good health. I tell God I am thankful for those as well, but I tell him all year long. So I wanted this Thanksgiving to look at the bigger picture.

When we thank God for provisions, for family, for a job and health these are all focused around us. They are self centered. And family changes, people die, and marriages break up. People also loose their jobs, or have financial distresses which impacts their provisions. So to thank God for family, food, clothing and shelter for good health are all fine, but centered around self. I didn’t want that for Thanksgiving Day.

So for my third “thing” I’m thankful for, let me give you a definition and see if you can determine what I am describing. Identify this word – ” A state of exemption from the power or control of another. Immunity.”

Any ideas what word this is defining? Let me give you a clue or two.

Romans 6:22 KJV  “But now being made free from sin, and become servants to God, ye have your fruit unto holiness, and the end everlasting life.”

1 Corinthians 7:22 KJV  “For he that is called in the Lord, being a servant, is the Lord’s freeman: likewise also he that is called, being free, is Christ’s servant.”

John 8:32 KJV  “And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.”

John 8:36 KJV  “If the Son therefore shall make you free, ye shall be free indeed.”

The 3rd thing I am thankful for is freedom. As identified above, freedom is a state of exemption from the power or control of another. Nations and peoples seek freedom from tyranny. America was always a beacon for freedom. Freedom for the believer is freedom and liberty in Christ. Free from sin and the power or control of sin and death.

Believers are to live, walk and be led by the Spirit. That is why believers can go through things where  most would cringe. You see, this body may be put in jail for following Christ. Like Peter, some may be crucified. Jews were slaughtered because they follow God’s lead and not this world’s ways. You see, no matter how much this world tries to tie you up, confine you or shut your mouth from preaching Jesus, they can not take the Holy Spirit from you. They can not take Jesus away from you because he is in your heart, soul and mind. So no matter what this world does, believers have Jesus Christ. Believers have Freedom.

Believers are free from sin and death. We have liberty in Christ. So as this world and America celebrate Thanksgiving and thank God for family, food, clothing, shelter, health all good things to be thankful for, I will be thanking God for freedom. How God has set me free because I freely chose to believe on and receive Jesus Christ as my Lord and Saviour. And who the Son sets free is free indeed.

I truly am thankful for you, my followers. My prayer is you will use the opportunities God gives you to share the gospel of salvation with your family and friends this Thanksgiving. You never know who will be stepping in to eternity this month or year.

Until next time.

I saw this picture on Instagram and thought it was beautiful. It is not my original. I thank whoever posted it.

image

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

