Mystery of Days Challenge

I have a challenge for you. There are several specific days mentioned in scripture. The challenge?  What’s the difference. Let me explain.

When you read and study God’s word you notice a clear distinction between days. Starting in Genesis we read, and the evening and the morning were the first day, and the evening and the morning were the second day and so forth. You find these references in Genesis 1. God made each day specific to a part of his creation. And God identified what day, the first, second, third and so forth. Throughout scripture God identifies specific days.

We see God mentions a day of rest. God mentions “the Lord’s day” and “that day”. We also see “the day of the Lord” is mentioned. And there are other days mentioned. These different days do not mean the same thing. Each of these days have a specific significance. These days have specific meanings.

When you group the meanings together to mean the same thing you loose the “doctrine” (teaching) of the verse. The result? People get confused or they interpret scripture instead of the Holy Spirit teaching scripture. 

So the Mystery of Days Challenge is for you to find what certain days are and what they mean. Let me explain. The phrase, “the day of the Lord” – what is the day of the Lord and what does that phrase mean. I will give you three phrases, but there are more. I want to focus your attention on three.

~ the day of the Lord
~ the Lord’s day
~ that day

You can use a concordance. Jot down the phrase and look up scriptures in the concordance that have the phrase. Then pray for God to help you understand and then look up the references you wrote down for that phrase. When you are done with these three, you should have a good idea what each phrase means.

Then when you are reading and studying different topics and you come across that phrase, you will be reminded of what the phrase means. And that is how you learn sound doctrine. You let God interpret his own word.

Let me get personal here. I was someone who did not even know God. I didn’t know Jesus until I was 27 years old. I knew nothing of God. The only thing I knew was the Bible was the word of God. I didn’t know what Bible version or anything about all the different versions. All I knew was the Bible is the word of God. I believed that.

I also knew denominations had different teachings. I didn’t know why there were so many different denominations. I use to think, if the Bible is the word of God and everyone reads the Bible, why are there so many different religions? Why are there different denominations if they all read the same book? The Lord showed me why, from his word.

I use to argue with people about Bible versions and teachings until the Lord showed me it was not my job to argue with people. I was to season my speech with salt and try to calmly and patiently reason with people. Isaiah 1:18 KJV
“Come now, and let us reason together, saith the Lord : though your sins be as scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they be red like crimson, they shall be as wool.”

My job is to share the good news of the gospel, period. People will decide to believe and receive Jesus Christ into their heart or not. Their eternity is based on their decision, my eternity is settled and my name is written in the Lamb’s Book of Life.

I say all this because denominations have a tendency to teach their denominational doctrine. Real truth comes from God’s word. And although I might not understand some things, I know I will let God be true and every man a liar. Romans 3:4 KJV  “God forbid: yea, let God be true, but every man a liar; as it is written, That thou mightest be justified in thy sayings, and mightest overcome when thou art judged.”

Just like the Pharisees, people get stuck in their denominational teachings and refuse to let God teach them. Especially if it goes against their denominational teaching. I made my mind up I was going to listen to God. And if I don’t understand something, I pray and pray for the Holy Spirit to help me understand and let God’s word explain itself. You can loose friends that way. But you have to decide who you will believe.

So this study on the Mystery of Days may or may not line up with your denominational teaching. You decide how you will handle it.

Until next time.

image

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

