Expectations Of 2017

I wrote my son a letter and emailed it in a pdf document. I’m in Florida and he is in Colorado. A few days ago he sounded a little down and discouraged so I was reflecting on his growing up. So the letter I wrote him was pretty much a recap of his youth and our experiences together. I wanted to remind him of his successes, determination, excitement of life and how extraordinary he is and his achievements. And yes, I wanted to remind him that God loves him very much and so do I. He was telling me how glad he was that 2016 was coming to an end and how this year had so many challenges for him.

Not once in my letter did I say anything negative to him. Not that I intended it that way, I have no negative thoughts about him or his growing up. And after he read the letter he called me and wanted to talk for 2 hours. I realized his expectations for 2016 were not met. And now, he was looking for 2016 to be gone, expecting things to improve for 2017.

Expectations are a way of giving us hope. After all, when you get in your car to go somewhere, you expect it to work. When you turn on heat or air conditioning, you expect it to work. But when it comes to people there are variables and our expectations should be tempered.

After all, God does not always answer our prayers the way we expected. People get married and things don’t always turn out as expected. And most often the women are looking at personal relationships and the men on things. And if we were honest we would agree that many of our expectations are dashed but we still have hope.

Expectations are great but we have to learn to be flexible. Only expectations from God’s promises are solid. People have flaws in the flesh because of the sin nature. And expectations from God’s word, his promises, are rock solid so we can expect what God says is 100 per cent true and accurate.

Paul knew and expected that once he died in his body, he would be present with the Lord.

Philippians 1:20-24 KJV  “According to my earnest expectation and my hope, that in nothing I shall be ashamed, but that with all boldness, as always, so now also Christ shall be magnified in my body, whether it be by life, or by death.
[21] For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.
[22] But if I live in the flesh, this is the fruit of my labour: yet what I shall choose I wot not.
[23] For I am in a strait betwixt two, having a desire to depart, and to be with Christ; which is far better:
[24] Nevertheless to abide in the flesh is more needful for you.”

We see from verse 20 that expectation is tied to hope. So as we go into 2017 with great expectations, be flexible. Make a list of your expectations for 2017 and then take that list to God in prayer. As the year goes by, make notes under each expectation and if it is fulfilled, write the date and time it was fulfilled and how God fulfilled that expectation. You will see how God answers your prayers or if God says not yet, trust me.

And my sincere hope and expectation to you my readers and followers is first, for the salvation of your souls. I expect to meet each of you in heaven one day. If you are not saved, please look at our Menu and select How To Be Saved remembering it is not a prayer that saves, but a heart and mind conversion.

I wish each and every one of you wisdom, understanding and knowledge in Christ and God’s word. Peace, prosperity and good health and may your expectations be fulfilled for 2017.

Until next time – 2017.

image

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

