Reset Buttons

As we start 2017 we have hopes and expectations. Many people make resolutions to change areas of their life. Some people even lay out goals and aspirations. New years  are like pressing a reset button, it is like people reset their life.

As Believers, our number one goal should be to share the gospel of salvation through Jesus Christ Our Lord with everyone. Then we work with God  to change us,  to mold and make us and do what the Lord created us for –  our purpose. Why? To fulfill our destiny.

As I mentioned before, when I was growing up, my family did not know God or Jesus or anything about scriptures. My father left my mother for other women. He left my mom with a bunch of kids to fend for herself. He never provided for us and he didn’t help my mom or us.  So you take a woman who grew up in the thirties and forties who was taught women don’t need an education. Women are supposed to stay home and take care of her husband, the kids and the house and that is what my mom did. But my father left for other women. He walked out and  sprinkled babies everywhere he went leaving women to fend for themselves.

My mom’s parents did not help my mother. Now, when I look at my mom’s situation and what it was like it truly is a miracle from God that we made it, all of us. Put yourself in those shoes no education, no job, a rented house, a bunch of babies, no car or driver’s license.

My mom needed to learn to drive and to get a car, she did. Later, one time we were all going someplace and she made the wrong turn in a traffic circle and a guy yelled out his window at her,  ” Hey lady, where did you get your driver’s license?”  My mom yelled back,  ” Sears and Roebuck on a Sunday with cereal box tops, where did you get yours?”  I will never forget that day, we all laughed over Mom’s response.

God helped my mom get a good job and later my mom decided to go to night school. She struggled with the math classes so my older sister tutored her and mom passed all her classes with the highest scores in the class. She was a fighter and fought for what was right and fair and was a fierce protector of all us kids.

But a single mom working full-time and keeping up a farmhouse and all of us kids, did not know God. Mom often said she would talk to God and ask him to help her but she didn’t know anything about him so she couldn’t teach us about God.

One of my brothers was the first to get saved in our family when he was about 22 years old but he never told any of us. Later, he confessed to me that he got saved for God to get him out of a situation he got himself into. Once the situation was resolved he went back to his old self.

But when I got saved at 27 years old I told everyone in my family. I wouldn’t shut up about Jesus and salvation.  Not that I want to toot my own horn,  I don’t. I wanted to share what I had because I loved my family. Because my mom knew it was God who helped her all those years she just didn’t know him,  he was faithful to show her how to get to heaven and how to know him and he used me.

Friends, as we start a new year let us first be sure we have repented of our sin  and asked Jesus into our heart to save us and we will go to heaven when we die in this body. And remember, sometimes people say or do stupid things because they have just gone through an event in their personal life that has rocked their life. Something may have put someone’s life into chaos.

We have to learn how to help people work through difficulties trusting God, using prayer and God’s word for guidance and helping each other. My mom refused any government assistance and we never were on welfare or food stamps. As I said, mom was a fighter. But people, like my mom, are often too proud to ask others for help and many turn to God for help. And God uses people to help others out. So be a vessel in 2017  God can use you to bless others and God in turn will bless you more.

Galatians 5:22-26 KJV  “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith,
[23] Meekness, temperance: against such there is no law.
[24] And they that are Christ’s have crucified the flesh with the affections and lusts.
[25] If we live in the Spirit, let us also walk in the Spirit.
[26] Let us not be desirous of vain glory, provoking one another, envying one another.”

Until next time.

image

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

