Sleep Walking?

Most denominations teach or preach on actions of the flesh. They try to correct ” bad behaviour”, improve moral character, preach good deeds. All of this is good, but all of it deals with our flesh in this world. Is it working? Just look at society over the past 10, 20, 30, 40 years, has society improved? Remember the Golden Rule? Do unto others as you want them to do unto you. Has it helped change society?

Scripture clearly tells us, John 4:24 KJV
  “God is a Spirit: and they that worship him must worship him in spirit and in truth.”

We know God was manifest in the flesh, 1 Timothy 3:16 KJV  “And without controversy great is the mystery of godliness: God was manifest in the flesh, justified in the Spirit, seen of angels, preached unto the Gentiles, believed on in the world, received up into glory.”

We know Jesus Christ said he is God in the flesh. John 8:58 KJV  “Jesus said unto them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Before Abraham was, I am.”
There are many more scripture references declaring Jesus is God manifest in the flesh, but that is not my point here.

Jesus went back to heaven so there is an unseen world. There is like a whole other world we can not see.
2 Corinthians 4:18 KJV  “While we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen: for the things which are seen are temporal; but the things which are not seen are eternal.”

The things of this other world are eternal but the world we are in, the world we can see, is temporal. This other world we can not see, right? Wrong. True we can not see this world with our earthly eyes but we can see things from the spirit world because scripture tells us we can.

God showed Daniel things from the spirit world in dreams, in visions. Even the apostle John saw things in the spirit world as the book of  Revelation tells us. Ezekiel the prophet saw things in the spirit world and he describes what he saw vividly.

Did you ever ask yourself or ask God, if this physical world is temporary and the things in this world temporal, why create them? I have asked God that question. If mankind, in this flesh, is temporal and this world is temporal, why make mankind in this world? Is it all an experiment?

And what if God gives us glimpses of the spirit world through his word and through dreams, what is the purpose?

Have you considered the following:
~ What if God made man with a free will to see who really would love Him?
~ What if God wanted to sift out people who hated Him?
~ What if the purpose of life here, in the flesh, was to sift those who wanted to be with God?

If God created man for fellowship, as many pastors teach, can you have fellowship with people who hate you?

And if God gives us glimpses of the eternal spirit world through dreams and visions,  why do we do things in our dreams that we would not do when we are “awake”?

When I was a youngster, I would sleep walk. I can attest to people who say they did not know what they were doing because they were sleep walking. Doctors and family use to say things to my mother, but they did not understand sleep walking.

My mom use to say she would find me and calmly try to tell me to go back to bed. They say you never wake someone when they are sleep walking because they can go into shock. I would jump in bed with my younger brother and say, give me your belt. I didn’t know I did that. Naturally, I woke my brother up when I did things like that and mom would tell him it is okay, I was sleep walking.

I remember mom taking me to a doctor one time and he told her to put a cocoa mat at my bed. When I would get out of bed and step on the cocoa mat, the pickers would prick my feet and I would get back into bed. You know what? I just walked right over the mat. It didn’t work.

My mom use to tell me, you will not do anything when you are a sleep that you would not do when you were awake. Mom didn’t really know but that is what she was told.

One time I was about 22 years old and I went to North Carolina to tour a piano factory. I was in the music business. I stayed in a motel that had two double beds. I slept in the bed closest to the window and sliding glass door. In the middle of the night I felt myself hit the wall and slide down to the floor. It woke me up.

When I looked at the wall, my knee had hit the wall and I put a large hole in the wall with my knee. My neck was sore. I realized I had stood up on my bed and ran as fast as I could over my bed, jumped onto the other bed and took off running right into the wall. Then I slid down the wall on to the floor. I called my mom in the morning and said to her, I thought you said I would not do things in my sleep that I would not do when I was awake? She had no explanation.

So why was I sleep walking? No one could explain it to my mom or to me. But I can say this, I use to have a nightmare that this evil looking being was chasing me. I didn’t watch scary movies as a kid. I hated scary things. I would plug my ears and hum when scary scenes came on tv. I still do that today or just change the channel. There was a time I was afraid to go to sleep because I feared that evil looking thing would chase me. I can say this. When I got saved at 27 years old, the nightmares stopped and I stopped sleep walking.

I truly believe from scripture, when we sleep, our spirit man is living in the spirit realm. Many times scripture tells us of a deep sleep coming on people. I have always been a deep sleeper. My mom would tell me the house could fall down and it would not wake me up. She use to wake me up  by rubbing my arm firmly. So I understand deep sleep from scripture.

It is in deep sleep that God took from Adam to create Eve, Genesis 2:21. So if we access the spirit realm when we sleep, it is something I plan on examining from acripture. Until next time.

image

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

