Out Of Your Hand

Let me preface this with two scriptures.
Proverbs 3:5-6 KJV  “Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.
[6] In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.”

Psalm 32:8 KJV  “I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go: I will guide thee with mine eye.”

If you believe God and his word, and I do, then although we may not understand things or what is going on in our life, we have to trust God will work things out and guide us.

Romans 8:28 KJV  “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.”

I have never been the kind of person that could figure things out. I am a book person. Give me a book and tell me to follow the directions and I will receive the outcome the book teaches. I don’t need to know the whys. But there are times I struggle with the hows. How do I do this or how do I do what the book tells me.

An example is my own salvation. When Jack asked me if I wanted to get saved, I told him yes but I don’t know how. As a believer, I ask God how questions often. How do I live in the spirit as Galatians 5:25 tells me. How do I be led by the Spirit or how do I walk in the spirit. I can’t tell you how many times I have looked things up in scripture to learn how to do things God’s way. Hundreds!

So when God promises to guide us, teach us, and direct our paths, naturally I ask how will I recognize your leading and direction Lord? Especially when things don’t make sense.

Being raised in the country with no running water and an outhouse, I am not a fan of country living. As soon as I could I was off to the city. Ahh  civilization I thought. ( We won’t go there.) Later in my life God put me back in the country. I cried out to God, this is a desert Lord. How do I know it was God? The decision was out of my control, out of my hands.

Throughout life we make decisions, some good and some bad. When we make bad decisions as believers, we confess it to God and ask for his forgiveness and help. But what about when the decision is taken out of our hands? And that is what life throwing us curves is all about.

We have things planned and working smoothly and something happens in our life that throws us a curve. It could be anything. You could get married and your spouse leaves you, abandons you. You are forced to move from an area you love. Or a parent gets sick or dies. A child turns to the dark side. You loose your job or are replaced by a computer.

Events happen in your life and you did not see them coming and you are thrown a curve. All of a sudden your life is tossed upside down. A lot of people, including Christians, tend to focus on the event and why the event happened. They focus on what did they do wrong that caused that spouse to leave. Or where did you go wrong that your child turned to the dark side. Or my parents have been a rock, a stabilizer and now they are sick or died, now what.

That is when those beginning scriptures come into play. When events happen that we have no control over, God is at work. God puts people in our life that we might reach the lost by sharing the gospel of salvation. So when events happen that are out of our control and people are placed in our path, God has a plan.

Often, people get mad at God or quit the walk of faith when life changing events happen. They tend to look inward and not upward. And telling people to bloom where they are planted is not helpful at all. Proverbs 16:9 KJV  “A man’s heart deviseth his way: but the Lord directeth his steps.”

When life throws us a curve, we have to trust the Lord is at work and we will learn and grow in Christ through the event. That is when we need to ask God to make clear to us what we can do to help, to further His plan. Why? Because we know ALL THINGS work together for good, Romans 8:28 and we know God loves us very much.

When life changing curves are out of our hands, God must be changing things. We may not like some of the changes but we have to trust the Lord and lean on him. If we do this willingly, God blesses us, teaches us and later when we look back, we see what God was up to. Until next time.

image

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

