Dreams, Symbols And Dream Books

Students of the word of God know God uses symbols to convey information to people. Unbelievers do not know or understand God using symbols or pictures and a good example is King Nebuchadnezzar and Daniel. The king had to have Daniel interpret his dream because the king did not understand the symbols.

Even the Pharoah of Egypt did not understand the symbols in his dream so he has Joseph brought in to explain what the symbols mean. These are only  two biblical cases where unbelievers did not understand God’s message. God was giving these unbelievers a message but they did not understand.

Even the book of Revelation is a message from God to all of mankind, believers and unbelievers. There are symbols in the book of Revelation. Have you ever explored what the symbols represent?

Notice in Daniel’s case the “false prophets” the fakes could not provide the answer to King Nebuchadnezzar. So what about today? Yes, God does give us messages when we sleep, in dreams. Job 33:14-16 KJV  “For God speaketh once, yea twice, yet man perceiveth it not.
[15] In a dream, in a vision of the night, when deep sleep falleth upon men, in slumberings upon the bed;
[16] Then he openeth the ears of men, and sealeth their instruction,”

But can we understand the messages God gives us today? I believe yes, we can understand. Yes, God gives us his word to learn his ways, about him but like God says in Job, he seals our instruction when we sleep. He gives us messages through dreams and the Holy Spirit guides us.

Even the prophet Joel tells us, Joel 2:28-32 KJV  “And it shall come to pass afterward, that I will pour out my spirit upon all flesh; and your sons and your daughters shall prophesy, your old men shall dream dreams, your young men shall see visions:
[29] And also upon the servants and upon the handmaids in those days will I pour out my spirit.
[30] And I will shew wonders in the heavens and in the earth, blood, and fire, and pillars of smoke.
[31] The sun shall be turned into darkness, and the moon into blood, before the great and the terrible day of the Lord come.
[32] And it shall come to pass, that whosoever shall call on the name of the Lord shall be delivered: for in mount Zion and in Jerusalem shall be deliverance, as the Lord hath said, and in the remnant whom the Lord shall call.”

So how can we understand the message from God? The symbols. If you look to man’s interpretation of symbols or you look to what scripture  refers to as soothsayers or such, you loose. To get the truth you have to go to God and his word to interpret the symbols. It is kind of like putting a puzzle together except God is giving you the pieces. I find that a very interesting journey.

I had a dream a few years back and I knew 100% that dream was from God. How did I know? Because there were two angels and the one started the conversion telling me, “God has heard your prayer”. I had made a prayer that night before I went to bed. A special prayer like I had never prayed before. And when the angel told me that – I knew God sent them. What they had in their hand and what they said, I knew 100% they were from God. I knew the scriptures tell us, when people prayed God sent prophets and angels and they said, “God has heard your prayer”.  So when the angels told me that, I knew that is how God responded in the scriptures.

I did not understand the dream then but,  I was so excited with what God told me, I woke up and just started thanking and praising God. Then I looked at the clock and it was about 4am and I could not go back to sleep because I was so excited. Then I was upset with myself because I didn’t ask a bunch of specific questions.

I sought out a believer who had a gift from God in understanding dreams. They would not answer my question about the dream because I did not make a payment. They were selling what God gifted them with.  Could you imagine Joseph telling Pharaoh, pay me first? Or Daniel, make a “donation” to my ministry first?

Then there are those believers who try to understand using the world’s interpretation of symbols instead of God’s word. Their information just leads people down the wrong path. So what is the answer? God’s word and here is how I do it. I bought a small wire bound notebook. I titled the notebook My Dreams. Then when I have a dream that I remember or a dream that has an impact, I write in the notebook everything I can remember about the dream. I do it right away so I do not forget the details. I even keep a pad and pen on my night stand for when God tells me something in my sleep, I can write it down when I wake.

After I have written everything, in detail, from my dream I note the following.
~ Was my dream in color or B&W – color
~ Who was in my dream? What people specifically.
~ What objects were in my dream? A tree, a pair of slacks, a ladder, a table and a cup. The things that stood out to me. They made me notice them.
~ How many scenes were in my dream? Another words, did the dream take place all in one area or was I like moved to another area.
~ How did I feel during the dream and when I woke?

The old Strong’s Exhaustive Concordance does not have a section in the back called A Subject Guide, but the New Strong’s Exhaustive Concordance does. What’s interesting about the Subject Guide is it tells you symbolically what objects mean biblically. It does not tell you all of the meanings and some it never mentions but if you are looking for a starting point in understanding the message God sends you in a dream, this is a good starting point.

The Subject Guide will use words like figurative or symbolic and then gives you the scripture showing you where it is used. Doing this allows God to interpret his message to you.

So let me encourage you to keep a Dream Book. To write everything in your dream book, in detail, about your dreams. Then identify the people and objects in your dream. Objects are symbolic just like Daniel explaining the image was symbolic of nations and John writes symbols in Revelation. Then look up what the objects / symbols mean. And above all, pray and ask God to help you undersrand.

Until next time.

image

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

