In Front Of You

Did you ever notice the whole armour of God does not have a covering for your back? Clearly God wants us to push forward and not cut and run away.

As believers, we live in this world but are not a part of this world. Our heart and mind is stayed on the Lord and his business while we live and walk in the spirit. Our spirit man is suppose to grow and eventually overcome our flesh and fleshly nature. But we are still impacted by people, saved or lost,  while we are in this mortal body.

The Lord has put it on my heart to share an experience I have had. This experience is the reason for the title of this post, In Front Of You. I don’t know if any of you have truly loved one of your parents where you were at their beckoned call. Yes, it is a two way street and although I was at my mom’s beckoned call, my mom was always there for me.

I don’t know if it is because mom’s have a mother’s love, an unconditional love for their children or not. I have seen or heard of some mothers abandoning their children too. But when you, as a child of your parents in the flesh, make a decision to be a part of a parent’s life, you both make sacrifices for each other. And when God uses you to get through to a parent about salvation and explaining salvation to your parent, and they get saved, your bond is strengthened even more.

I use to tell my mom she is my earthly parent and I am her spiritual parent. We would laugh over that. What is even more amazing is when I first got saved, no one in my family wanted anything to do with me. Now, they are all saved.

The end of this month is four years my mom has gone home to be with Jesus. As I look back to the first few months after mom went home I marvel how God comforted and strengthened me. I had such a bond with my mom and she with me.

After the Hospice nurses left and the funeral people came to pick up her body for burial and the family left, I sat and cried. I talked to the Lord thanking him he gave me time to prepare myself and didn’t just take her home. For the following three months I just cried and talked to God. I wasn’t angry, I was hurting in my heart. My mom’s and my life were wrapped up together for years and years. Now it was like part of me was gone. Part of my daily life was missing.

As a musician, I would play the organ or keyboard and mom would sing and dance around the house. Now when I played all I could see was  mom singing and dancing and joking around with me, but she wasn’t there. I couldn’t play for over a year.

God started healing my heart and reminding me we would be together again with Jesus but I still missed her and still do. Yes, I did thank God for all the wonderful, funny and exciting times God gave us. I remember telling God I felt like a ship without a rudder and didn’t know what he wanted me to do now.

Four years later this month, I now see. After mom went home, the Lord opened my understanding to many things in his word. I have been studying God’s word for years, every day, and several hours every day so when God started opening my understanding he was taking time to teach me things I did not consider before. It is almost like the Lord took me forward to a higher place.

When we loose someone dear to us, whether through abandonment, divorce, or death, that is a crucial time for us. People either quit on God or draw closer to God. I chose to draw closer. And when the Lord showed me, my mom is not a person of our past together, she is a person of my future, I could rejoice. Another words, she is in front of me.

When I think on her getting sick and dying it saddens me but then I change my thinking to the future. Mom is waiting for me to come home. And God has me here to do a job for him. I must finish my work here until my Heavenly Father says it’s time to come home.

We all experience heartaches and pain in this life. But friend, if you are saved, God has you here to do something specific for him. And God will reward you for not quitting and following through. When we run a race we know there is a prize or reward. So let us run with patience our race. And as Paul says,

Philippians 3:13-21 KJV  “Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do , forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before,
[14] I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.
[15] Let us therefore, as many as be perfect, be thus minded: and if in any thing ye be otherwise minded, God shall reveal even this unto you.
[16] Nevertheless, whereto we have already attained, let us walk by the same rule, let us mind the same thing.
[17] Brethren, be followers together of me, and mark them which walk so as ye have us for an ensample.
[18] (For many walk, of whom I have told you often, and now tell you even weeping, that they are the enemies of the cross of Christ:
[19] Whose end is destruction, whose God is their belly, and whose glory is in their shame, who mind earthly things.)
[20] For our conversation is in heaven; from whence also we look for the Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ:
[21] Who shall change our vile body, that it may be fashioned like unto his glorious body, according to the working whereby he is able even to subdue all things unto himself.”

I truly pray this post helps someone. I try not to get too personal on these posts but God put it on my heart to share this and explain deep, deep hurts and heartaches God will use to open our eyes to spiritual matters. Remember,  the flesh profits nothing, it is all about your spirit man. Until next time.

image

.

.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “In Front Of You”

  1. SheldaRay says :

    Thank you for sharing. God bless you 😊

Leave a Reply

