Instant Life Change

The other day I walked in to a small  store where I regularly shop. Over the past couple of years I have tried to be a friend to a couple of the regular workers in the store. I would bring in shopping carts from the parking lot because people would leave the carts out in lot instead of putting the cart back where they found it, in the store. The workers always thanked me for helping them.

As I was standing in line to check out, one of the cashiers who I have tried to be a friend to, looked preoccupied. So I called her by name and asked how she was today. Then asked if she was having a good day. She said it is kind of hard to have a good day when your husband is in Hospice. So I expressed my sadness and asked her how long has he been in Hospice. She said a week. I asked what happened to him. She said he had a massive stroke last week. I asked how old is he. 57 she said. In an instant, their lives changed.

As she was explaining to me how Hospice does not think he will be in this world much longer, I was asking God to give me words of comfort for her. So I said, Is he saved and going to heaven? Her countenance changed. She looked at me and said, I believe in heaven. Then I said, yes, but is he saved. She said, I will cover for him. I said, you know, it doesn’t work that way. She clearly did not want to hear any more about it so I said I will see you later.

I got into my car and prayed for both of them. I asked God to put believers in their path they will listen to and be saved. Surely, I will try again to get through to her but her husband God is going to have to send someone.  Often, Hospice workers are believers and maybe they can get through to her husband.

But the situation made me think and concerned me. Here is a man who is getting ready to step into eternity where he can no longer change his destination. God gave him 57 years to read God’s book. God gave him 57 years to find out how to get to heaven and this man and his wife have not read anything from God.

All those years, 57 of them, and why would someone not even read one book, God’s book the Bible. All the books they have read all their life and they would not even take the time to read God’s book, just one book from God.

Romans 10:3 KJV  “For they being ignorant of God’s righteousness, and going about to establish their own righteousness, have not submitted themselves unto the righteousness of God.”

Imagine the surprise on their faces when they die, if unsaved. When they realize they are not going to heaven and they had their chance to read one book that would tell them about God and heaven and how to go to heaven, but they never took any time in 57 years to check it out?

When Jesus sent out 70 disciples in Luke 10, they came back to Jesus saying “devils are subject to us through your name”. Jesus told them not to rejoice in that, but rejoice your names are written down in heaven.

Luke 10:17-20 KJV  “And the seventy returned again with joy, saying, Lord, even the devils are subject unto us through thy name.
[18] And he said unto them, I beheld Satan as lightning fall from heaven.
[19] Behold, I give unto you power to tread on serpents and scorpions, and over all the power of the enemy: and nothing shall by any means hurt you.
[20] Notwithstanding in this rejoice not, that the spirits are subject unto you; but rather rejoice, because your names are written in heaven.”

Friends, God keeps records. Just as God has chronicled creation and generations for thousands of years, the time we are in now is being chronicled and names are being written in heaven.

We know scripture tells us of the Book of Life and the “other” books. Like Paul explained in Romans 10:3, people who are ignorant of God’s way and try to establish their own way, their names are not written in the Lamb’s Book of Life.

Romans 10:3 KJV  “For they being ignorant of God’s righteousness, and going about to establish their own righteousness, have not submitted themselves unto the righteousness of God.”

Revelation 20:12-15 KJV  “And I saw the dead, small and great, stand before God; and the books were opened: and another book was opened, which is the book of life: and the dead were judged out of those things which were written in the books, according to their works.
[13] And the sea gave up the dead which were in it; and death and hell delivered up the dead which were in them: and they were judged every man according to their works.
[14] And death and hell were cast into the lake of fire. This is the second death.
[15] And whosoever was not found written in the book of life was cast into the lake of fire.”

So even though this cashier thinks she can cover for her husband, her thinking is wrong based on the word of God.

Revelation 21:27 KJV  “And there shall in no wise enter into it any thing that defileth, neither whatsoever worketh abomination, or maketh a lie: but they which are written in the Lamb’s book of life.”

Friends, what we think about God, about getting to heaven, even about doctrines is not what is important. It is what saith the Lord. Even believers get caught up in church doctrines and we see divisions,  but the truth is in God’s word and it does not matter if we think this or that or if a church teaches this or that. The only thing that matters and will count is what does the Lord God say about it in his word. Then we, as believers, have to try and show people what they think needs to line up with scripture and if it does not, then you have to change what you think to what God says. Until next time.

image

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

