The Plumbing Attack

When God saved me he had his work cut out. Yes, I am sure he already knew I needed a lot of work. Don’t we all need.

My regular readers know I was not raised in a “Christian” family. My father left my mother for another woman. Back then, there was no birth control so my mom had 8 children. The last four were put up for adoption the day they were born. When my father left, he left my mom with the “first” four to raise on her own with no help from him.

Mom was a determined person who knew of God and called on him but back then, she was not saved. She taught us to overcome our circumstances, be brave and never quit, never. So learning from her example, I knew I could do anything, even plumbing. Oh how I hate plumbing. I praise God I was able to play a large roll in my mom getting saved when she was 56 years old.

Don’t get me wrong, I love what plumbing does. After all, mom moved us to the country when I was five and we rented an old farm house with no running water. I was 15 years old when we finally got running water. And I thank God for running water frequently. But I hate plumbing.

When we four children grew up and left home, mom married again. About ten years later, I got saved and three years from then, mom got saved. We prayed faithfully for her husband to get saved for 23 years and God is faithful,  he did on his death bed. Weeks later, he died. So mom sold their 7 acre spread to downsize and she moved into a small two bedroom mobile home in a nice quiet park, in Florida.

One afternoon she calls me saying there is a leak and water is gushing out, into the house. I “fly” over to her place (not literally but praise God for clear roads that day). I crawled under the house, saw where the leak was and turned the water off. I prayed God help me fix it, I am not a plumber. So I read in a book how to fix leaks and with God guiding me, we fixed it.

After about four years, mom suggested I move in with her. So I sold my one acre spread and moved in. Three years later, mom was put on Hospice care and the following year, mom went home to be with Jesus. I decided to stay living in the nice park. About six months later, the plumbing sprung another leak. I sat and cried, complained to God and asked God why this happens to me. So I called a handyman this time. He fixed the plumbing. Then last year, the same thing happened again. The plumbing sprung another leak. God sent me a plumber handyman and he fixed it.

By this time I had replaced the hot water heating element twice and learned to turn the hot water breaker off unless I was going to need hot water.

Last year was the second time in two years the plumbing sprung a leak. The second time I cried and did not complain to God as much but I did say, out loud, I hate plumbing. Well guess what? Last night the plumbing sprung another major leak. So much so, the neighbors were gathering at the new river in my front yard at 8 o’clock this morning. I went out and turned the water off.

Tears came to my eyes, but I did not cry. Then it hit me. I started thinking. Mom lived here 8 years with no problems. Only one time did she have a plumbing issue and she used a lot more water than I use. But me, in 3 years, every year I have had a plumbing issue. Why me I wondered. Then God showed me this was an attack from satan.

Satan heard me say, I hate plumbing. And he knew these leaks would frustrate me and get me upset. And I realized this was an attack from Satan to ruin my day, get me upset and try to get me to complain to God. I admit I did get a little discouraged but only for a passing thought. Then I said out loud, not going to happen Satan. You are not going to upset me, my God shall supply all my need. Then I rebuked him and said  Matthew 4:10 KJV  “Then saith Jesus unto him, Get thee hence, Satan: for it is written, Thou shalt worship the Lord thy God, and him only shalt thou serve.”

I really felt like God was smiling at me. Could it be true, Satan was trying to get to me by using the plumbing? John 10:10 KJV  “The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.” Oh I rebuked Satan and praised God for the plumbing leak. I was even able to smile through the ordeal.

So when things go wrong or you have “issues” that pop up in your life, just consider it may be Satan trying to ruin your day or ruin your joy. Praise God for him revealing the truth and rebuke Satan out loud and do what Jesus did, quote scripture out loud in your rebuke to Satan.

Now I am praying God provide a good plumber. Until next time.

image

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment